We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glow Worm Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a room with a double and single. Self contained, ensuite. Clean, quiet, lovely surroundings of course. And superb service at the desk. Didn't check out the facilities as only there one night. The hot tub looked extremely dodgy, the water was hmmm ick.. with floating foam on top when it wasn't in use. Would definitey recommend staying here!

Room Tip: i would suspect any room is good. Didn't see dorm set up if there was one though to comment ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwimatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    94
    52
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
113
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Tho it is not fancy, it is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, the free popcorn and soup are pleasant and a great way to meet people from around the world. The private bath and kitchenette was well stocked and very convenient. Free Wifi! All over the area, during the day there is the constant rattle of the helicopters taking folks to the glacier, and this place is a bit less noisy, set apart. Plus, as others say, the motel is next door to the West Coast Wild Life Centre where you can see the Rowi Kiwi (bird). This is a rare opportunity, not to be missed. Spend you money on that rather than a helicopter. You can walk up to the base of the glacier just 4 km from hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

When you stay at a backpackers you shouldn't expect more than what you've paid for, This makes for a nice surprise. Friendly reception, free popcorn, free soup in the evenings, fire place, hot tub, and nice units. We loved the individual touch of the units. Enough parking. Views of the mountains are great. Next door to centre where you can see rare Kiwi's (the ones with feathers, not the rugby/cycling crazy ones. Very good spot to get to claciers, etc.

Room Tip: Get one of the cabins. Worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbarista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Glow Worm definitely gets some points for some features, but while it's clean overall the place just feels a bit grimy, with a bit of an unwashed-backpacker smell that is not surprising given the clientele, but it's not an inherent feature of all hostels.
Pros: Most rooms (all?) have their own bathroom and kitchenette, the free veggie soup at 6pm is great for a rainy climate, the common space has two nice long wooden tables, and there's a long picnic table in the outdoor covered porch area as well. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the potbelly wood stove is great if it's chilly too.
Cons: Beds and linens aren't the best, the bathrooms are tiny (miniscule sink that's a bit hard to use), and really the smell in our room was my least favorite part. Also, the kitchen facilities were the worst of the hostels I've stayed in so far - poor selection of cookware, not so clean, and there was absolutely nothing in the way of condiments or tea/coffee for common use.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank cal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice friendly staff. Our room was basic and clean with private bathroom. Basic cooking facilities which we didn't use. However, our booking said there was breakfast included, but when we asked was told it was a mistake. We were offered breakfast at their other place further up the road, but this was awful...felt like a free for all. We didn't go into the communal kitchen or lounge so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtxiGirona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiki W, Marketing Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Unfortunately one of our booking agents made a mistake with advertising the free breakfast at Glow worm instead of Chateau Franz, our other hostel in Franz Josef.

"Free for all" is not the case with the breakfast. There are usually 40 + people to feed in an hour who are either catching buses or have activities planned out and about in Franz Josef. The breakfast has been very successful with our guests.

Glow worm is a smaller motel/backpacker and is very cosy. We hope that you travel well arohanui (with much love)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here in a family room in December. Our room was by far the dingiest and smallest place we stayed in in New Zealand. And the bathroom door fell off and onto us twice and could have easily resulted in serious injuries if we had not caught it!

The staff were nice but they told us that they had to give us a half-repaired room because their contractor left midway. I don't think that's valid justification and they ought to have either arranged a different room for us or a room at a different property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingforleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiki W, Marketing Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience with the maintenance. I will follow up with your concern regarding the door and make sure that this will not happen again. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Arohanui (with much love)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hostel was really average nothing more. Room was a bit small, bed was ok and so were the showers (clean enough), however the kitchen was really dirty and there was not enough light. We stayed for one night only. Don't go if you want to be pampered...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiki W, Marketing Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We are not sure what to benchmark the term 'average' against.? It is not a large complex with about 23 rooms and only one communal kitchen. The kitchen is nearly always in use with food preparation and guests helping themselves to the free coffee and tea.

We are glad that we were able to accommodate for you basic requirements
Arohanui (with much love)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Franz Josef
YHA Franz Josef
#5 of 12 in Franz Josef
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glow Worm Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glow Worm Accommodation

Property: Glow Worm Accommodation
Address: 27 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand (Formerly Sir Cedrics Glow Worm Flashpacker Hostel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glow Worm Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Glow Worm Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glow Worm Cottages Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing