We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic despite having no power”
Review of YHA Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic despite having no power”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We arrived to a town debilitated by a lack of electricity. The hostel was great. They had generator power so everyone could cook (local supermarket within walking distance also had generator power), the fire was working, the lounges were comfy, someone entertained on the piano and the place was really cosy. Our room was exactly like the picture, comfy and quite big. The ensuite was clean and spacious. Staff were very helpful and obviously under pressure. Although they couldn't provide hot water and the sauna, we had a great stay. A credit to the staff under trying conditions. Would stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annechop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    143
    64
    25
    7
See reviews for
24
123
89
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a twin ensuite room at while visiting the glacier countries. They allowed us to check in 1 hour early.The room was clean and roomy. There was a heater in the room and in the toilet. Net screens were installed on the windows so you can safely block out sandflies at night. They even provide shampoo and conditioner! Water in the shower was strong and hot. Laundry was $3 and drying also $3. the kitchen was quite big with adequate facilities. However, we do find the utensils there not well kept and quite greasy... that said, it was really full when we were there.

Accommodation in Franz Jo are really pricy so yha is a good budget option!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beeleeburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Kia ora beeleeburu,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such great feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our facilities up to scratch and our prices reasonable!

I’m sorry you found the kitchen utensils greasy. Because of your feedback, we have started a new cleaning protocol to make sure they’re kept as clean as possible.

All the best,

Luke Tarplett
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed in a twin private ensuite.
Room was fine but nothing special and a bit too hot.
We had to ask other guests not to engage in long telephone conversations outside our window so we could get to sleep.
Overall it was OK but felt overpriced for what it was - there are lots of other backpacker hostels in FJ and I would be tempted to try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Kia ora Bellastown,

I’m sorry to hear you found your stay was only OK and that other guests kept you awake! In the future, we do provide an after-hours phone number at reception for guests to call in such instances. This number allows us to provide 24 hour service to guests when needed.

Because of guest feedback like yours, we’re upgrading our private ensuite rooms with high quality TV systems.


Happy travels,

Luke Tarplett
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed two nights in a private single... It was a bit noisy, you could hear every step from the corridor. But after 11 p.m it was very peaceful! The bed was super soft (too soft). It smelled a bit weird in the room and there wasn't table or anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

average hostel! hotel staff friendly, shared bathrooms and showers which are clean and ok.
you get what you pay for! 100 dollars between three people for a night was actually pretty good for this. don't expect anything fantastic, but happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Irabaimatova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent two nights in this hostel. Double Ensuite Private. Not private at all, no soundproofing whatsoever.

1. Check in: fast and uneventful.
2. Room: clean (with a slight hint of piss in the air), small, no extra luxury as closet or any other place to keep clothes.
3. Service: no daily servicing of the rooms included.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilulkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

...and I would have given it 5 stars but they blew it in the last 30 minutes by not having hot water for a shower. I might understand this later in the day, but no hot water at 8am??

Otherwise this YHA is pretty close to perfect. Situated close to the village shops and bars, restaurants etc, the hostel is also close to some nice walks if you don't have a car to get to the more distant ones. Also close to the thermal pools and spa if you feel you need to unwind.

The glacier itself is just 2km away from the hostel - walkable and there are some nice hikes around that area too.

The hostel's communal lounge is comfy (with lots of sockets to charge those pesky phones and laptops) and the kitchen is clean and well equipped.

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and with my one cold morning shower aside, I can't recommend this hostel highly enough for your stay at Franz Josef.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Kia Ora Lee,

Wow, thanks for the glowing feedback! We always appreciate to hear that we’re doing our jobs well and the guests enjoy our hostel. I do apologise, however, for the cold 8am shower! This is not acceptable and we have implemented better checks on our bottled gas so no other guests have to shiver in the showers!

Enjoy your onward travels.

Luke Tarplett
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 12 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Franz Josef

Property: YHA Franz Josef
Address: 2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Franz Josef 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Franz Josef Glacier offers 5 star backpacker accommodation in a lush rainforest setting in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Only a five minute drive to the famous Franz Josef Glacier and just 30 minutes to Fox Glacier. Fantastic communal areas with lots of entertainment options: flat screen TV, DVDs, Sky TV, pool table, piano and cosy open fire. Free sauna - perfect for relaxing in after a day’s walking on the Glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Yha Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing