We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean”
Review of YHA Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's my first time to live in YHA in NZ. The hostel is very easy to be found while we arrived in Franz Josef Glacier, and it's close to stores and a gas station. Besides, the crew there were very friendly to help us check-in. The room we lived was small but very clean. It had an independent bathroom and the water was hot, and we really loved it because the weather was very cold then.

Room Tip: Independent bathroom is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhao-Jie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 341 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was in different YHA hostels in NZ, was impressed about the one in Wellington, but that one in Franz Josef is defently the best! Very clean, comfortable and very relaxing. You can not find a lot of hostels with a sauna...
Eventough I was sick for three days i felt really comfortable. Even the staffmembers took care about me. It was fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonello G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA N, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Kia Ora Antonello G and thank you for the great feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to review or our hostel. The team here work hard to make sure our hostel is the best it can be for our guests so it’s wonderful to hear we’re getting things right. Our staff do go above and beyond the call of duty, so I’m glad to hear how our staff took care of you while you were feeling unwell.

Wishing you all the best for you onward travels.

Kind Regards,

Luke Tarplett, YHA Franz Josef Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was the first of many stays at YHA in New Zealand. I stayed for one night in a shared six bed dorm where everything was clean, modern and the rooms were warm. The location was great, and the common area was spacious. Prior to my stay, I had never even heard of YHA. I checked out the next day as a YHA member and spent the next three weeks touring the south island while staying at this hostel chain. I was sold on the staff, Casey in particular, who was especially helpful and even accompanied me to the glacier on his day off. Many thanks to Casey and the stand-up staff at Franz Josef.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christianannschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This was the most average stay we had, compared to previous places, this place was neither bad nor good. Was a fine stay. Rooms were ok. The staff made the stay. Very helpful. Advising on the conditions of the roads and the day before a lot of trees had been blown over so to be cautious whilst driving.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wessa666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA N, Manager at YHA Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Kia Ora Wassa666,

Your positive words about our staff are greatly appreciated. I’m glad they were able to help you sort out the road conditions! We all work hard to make YHA Franz Josef a home away from home for our guests.

I’m sorry that you thought the hostel was only “average”. Should you have any recommendations on how we can do things better, please feel free to contact me: luke.tarplett@yha.co.nz.

Happy travels!

Kind Regards,

Luke Tarplett, YHA Franz Josef Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having now stayed in 5 YHA hostels in NZ South Island they are all pretty much the same. Always clean and well looked after.
Franz Josef was no exception. Located only 5km from the Franz Josef Glacier car park it is easily within walking distance of the main attraction.
What makes this hostel stand out from the others is the staff. I was checked in by an American who was efficient, polite and helpful. The next day a lady called Lynette went out of her way to help me out with booking accommodation for the rest of my trip.
I'm not saying the staff in the other hostels weren't helpful, they were, but Franz Josef was top of the pile - they had that extra something.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a four bed room and this was good, the place is alot bigger than I thought it was. The lounge was large with a separate tv room. Big kitchen with lots of cookers and everything you will need. We had a good heater in the room and everyone was warm even on the cold nights. The bathrooms were clean

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineCoastView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely accommodation, very friendly staff and we even got an upgrade for free!! Amazing place to stay at, and very environmentally friendly! Just a walk away from the restaurants and some activities. The staff provided some good places to dine and visit while we were on our short stay!

Perfect

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21alice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Franz Josef

Address: 2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $16 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Franz Josef 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Franz Josef Glacier offers 5 star backpacker accommodation in a lush rainforest setting in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Only a five minute drive to the famous Franz Josef Glacier and just 30 minutes to Fox Glacier. Fantastic communal areas with lots of entertainment options: flat screen TV, DVDs, Sky TV, pool table, piano and cosy open fire. Free sauna - perfect for relaxing in after a day’s walking on the Glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Yha Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing