We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel when visiting glaciers”
Review of YHA Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed in a double ensuite room for 2nights. Room and bathroom both a good size and clean. Location good - 2min walk to shops etc, 5min drive to glacier. Kitchen was a good size but got taken over one evening by a school trip of teenagers. Computers available for internet. Lots of free parking.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 345 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

Warm and comfortable during my winter stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, as were all the other travellers I met. One of the better hostels I have stayed in, although small-ish dorms. I felt very safe here as a single traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Generalpuffball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stopped overnight at Franz Josef YHA with my wife who is not used to staying at youth hostels, accomodation was ok although made a mistake in sleeping in a double bed which was not very comfortable. Location of YHA is very good close to all amenities although Franz Josef appears to be a sleepy village with not much going for it apart from the glacier

Room Tip: Don't go for double bed option very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conrad8220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We arrived here in a rush to get to our glacier hike. The staff were friendly and made check-in really easy. We were put in a 4 bed dorm that was quite small! The lockers were outside the room so we didn’t use them. The window didn’t shut but apparently they are waiting for a new window to be delivered. They offered to move us to a different dorm but we were only staying there for one night.

The kitchen is huge and was well-equipped. They have 5 computer terminals that are Global Gossip operated. The computer I used didn’t have a headphone/microphone, so the person at reception opened a brand new set for me.

The hostel is located near the information office and supermarket, and 7 or 8 minutes walk to the hot pools.

The only negative thing was that the room was cold and took a long time to heat up once we’d found out how to switch the heater on. There was also no sheet for one of the beds and when we lifted up the blanket to look for it there were lots of bits of paper or dirt underneath it! They need to clean their quilts better.
Overall it was a nice hostel with good facilities in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

YHA is cheap for budget travellers like us. We all liked the large kitchen with so many cooking facilities & it was kept clean & tidy, and the best part it is 24hrs for your use. When we came back from our heli-hike we can still do our cooking & enjoyed a late lunch (if we cannot use the kitchen 24hrs , we could have left YHA FJ hungry ). And YHA have a large eating area , too. The room is ok with us , well, what do you expect , value for money , a bunk bed & a double queen bed with towels provided, too. And when they required of us to remove the bedsheet , we know they changed the bedsheet for used , too. The bathrooms are clean, too. Cheers!

Room Tip: If you are a cleanliness freak , you better choose a bathroom attached don't share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Was the lowlight of an otherwise fantastic trip around the South Island. We stayed in 5 hostels/backpackers in addition to this one and the contrast was extreme. The staff were indifferent. The dorm rooms were so tiny that two people couldn't stand next to one another between the beds. The bathrooms/showers/toilets were filthy - gobs of hair in the shower *ick*. The hostel sleeps just over 100 and has one kitchen/lounge area. The weather was bad and it was completely overcrowded. The option was to find a seat on the floor or stay in the claustrophobic room. I would never recommend or stay at this hostel again.

Room Tip: Find a better room by booking someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our 'family room' was clean, with a double bed and a bunk bed which were made up with towels provided. The showers were OK as far as I can remember and the bathrooms were clean.

The kitchen was large and well equipped so no problem using it at all. Lots of seating areas and a lounge with TV and free DVDs to watch.

Staff were a little slow though and not all that helpful at the time.
They had a cool Earth Night where they turned off all the electricity (they do this once a week) and had an earth quiz. We were out for dinner but it looked pretty cool.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,410 reviews
2.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Backpackers and Motels
Chateau Backpackers and Motels
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Franz Josef

Address: 2-4 Cron Street | PO Box 12, Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand (Formerly Franz Josef Glacier YHA)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $21 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Franz Josef 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Franz Josef Glacier offers 5 star backpacker accommodation in a lush rainforest setting in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Only a five minute drive to the famous Franz Josef Glacier and just 30 minutes to Fox Glacier. Fantastic communal areas with lots of entertainment options: flat screen TV, DVDs, Sky TV, pool table, piano and cosy open fire. Free sauna - perfect for relaxing in after a day’s walking on the Glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Yha Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing