We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Perspective!”

Franz Josef Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.45*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Perspective!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We did the glacier walk during June. All though we were lucky to have 2 beautifully sunny and pleasant days while we were there, there had been a bitterly cold frost a few days prior to our visit. If you're willing to take the risk with the weather then it is a great time to visit as it is not packed with tourists. All the walks around the glacier are very well maintained and are mostly easy to walk. Although the glacier walk does not get you right up close to the glacier due to safety reasons, you do get a great view of the glacier at the end of the walk and get a sense of appreciation for the size of it and how much it has receded. Best part of the walk is the waterfalls on the way there! Overall awesome and would recommend to anyone as a must do if you're in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaesta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,519
    664
    234
    59
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
301 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

There is a choice of walks to view the glacier, a 90 minute round walk, a 30 minute walk and a 5 minute walk. In fact you could see the glacier as well on the 5 minute as you could the longer ones. All walks were very flat on a well marked stony pathway and the two longer ones took you past a great waterfall. The final viewing point on the longer walk gave you a disappointing view of the glacier.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind River, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to Franz Josef Glacier after visiting Fox Glacier, and I am glad we did as the area is quite different from Fox. There were a few nice waterfalls, and some nice rock formations along the walk to the face. The walk is easy for the first bit and then follows the river bed which is rocky so wear good shoes or hiking boots. Interesting to see just how much the river swells at times by the width of the dry river bed. Most is quite flat until the very end where you climb up the lateral moraine . The walking here is easier as the track has been flattened quite a bit. A rewarding view when you persevere to the end.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

you can only drive up to the car park here then you have to walk. It is not possible to get all the way to the ice as it is too dangerous especially after rain. But the views of the glacier are spectacular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobinMc882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice Small Town”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here to do a tour with Franz Josef Guides. There are a lot of places to eat and things to do. There is a Department of Conservation Visitor Center but it was disappointing. It seemed the majority of the facility was reserved for staff. There were no displays and the movie theater was closed. This is in sharp contrast to the Visitor Center in Haast which had a large display area with many exhibits. There are many trails. We took the Terrace Walk which is just south of town opposite the visitor center. We did this walk twice, once before dark and again after dark. About 100 meters from the road there is a very short path, about 2 meters, to the right which leads to an overhang. There you will find glow worms after dark. Not hundreds of them but I would say we saw a dozen or more. It was nice because we could take pictures and it didn't cost anything. The public path to the Franz Josef Glacier is not as steep as the public path to the Fox Glacier. I believe you do get a better view of the Fox Glacier from the final public viewing position. The guided tour of the Franz Josef Glacier does give you a good view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franz Josef Glacier also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Franz Josef Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing