We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great drink specials and cosy atmosphere ”

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, bar meals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Choose from over 40 different gin's, have a create your gonna experience Monsoon: it rains... we pour...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Venue appears cosy and well suited to its mountain range location. We were there on a Friday night off peak so wasn’t overly busy. Staff were friendly enough. $6 house spirts were great and lots of other specials, loved the design your gin idea and that you can get Yorkshire Pudding on on menu item, please have these added to your extras list, I would have ordered one with a roast.

For some reason despite lots of cozy spots we were seated near the kitchen and a back door which was constantly being left open by patrons and then had to be closed by staff, creating a wind and cold air tunnel. (perhaps this could be upgraded to self close), this and the constant passing of kitchen runners became annoying in the end and we moved tables outside. We had the burgers, which were huge and served on small wooden platters. Perhaps a bigger platter would be good, as my burger fell apart so much, I used a knife and fork, no issue with this but most of the filling was on the table more that then platter areas. The beef patty (homemade) was really good but I found the brioche bun to be overly dry despite the juiciness of the burger. The lettuce fresh and the back and onion rings good too. The fries in a basket were slightly undercooked so didn’t enjoy them. Some were scorching hot others cold and almost frozen potato consistency. The homemade aioli dip was great though. Dessert was also great, good presentation and tasty. Coming into the peak season I assume they are training new staff, be patient with them, lovely girls but are not over the menu items yet and questions from ourselves or other close tables were met with “I’m not sure” or “I think it’s”, perhaps shadowing of staff initially would be good or getting them to ask the kitchen staff would reduce some of this occurring and prevent complaints from less patient patrons. Overall was a good night out but the dry bun and undercooked fries lowered my enjoyment.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jamiea226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonia O, Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

hello jamie

So happy to hear you liked our gin menu, we love our gin selection here. unfortunately, we are coming into our busy season and tend to have a lot of people wanting to dine and hence we run out of of the best tables, its our fault we are so popular.

Glad to hear you loved our big burgers, we have never had an issue with the small wooden boards, we found it added a charm, we would have given you a plate if you had asked. We do love to pour homemade burgers here and everyone loves the brioche bun, they actually hold the burger better than the previous bun we used, and the issue with the fries if you had informed the waitress she would have got you fresh ones, but i will pass on the comments to chef so it doenst happen again.

Yes, we are coming into peak season and do have alot of new staff that are personally being trained myself and other supervisors. We do shadow our staff to a certain point, but they also need to hold their own and gain the confidence for themselves without the manger hoovering over them, we do a lot of training with our staff and a manager oversees if they get difficulty.


I do hope you visit again, and we can highen your enjoyment level.

regards
Antonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

45 minutes to get the drinks that we ordered. After we asked them.

People who came after us, got their food and drinks before us.

It's a polite thing to say if waiting time is long!

Steak was good, but burger was not so good.

Thanks to the waiter who was kind enough to bring our food after 1.5 hour waiting.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank V2890PXkimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stake was amazing... warm happy atmosphere... staff were super friendly... only took 20 minutes for our food to arrive!!!! Which is awesome... The stake was perfect and just the right size... spent over $100 but definitely worth every cent ... did I mention the stake is good ?? 10/10

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Pixie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonia O, Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

hi pixie
So happy to hear you enjoyed dinner and it was worth every penny! we love the steak here too!

best of luck with your travels

Antonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Such a fantastic place to eat!!
It looks amazing, staff are super friendly and the food was delicious!!!
Not over priced!
Great selection of food and drinks!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Polka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonia O, Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

hello
thank you for your lovely review, happy to hear the food was delicious!
enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards
Antonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

Excellent food and menu selection and affordable priced. The staff were friendly and enthusiastic. And the layout of the bar/restaurant was large with different areas to suit everyone - undercover outdoor seating with a huge fireplace, indoors restaurant, bar and pool table +

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Longspur-Tora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonia O, Manager at Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Hi longspur
Thank you for your lovely comment, so happy that you enjoyed your time at Monsoon bar, hope to see you again!

Antonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Monsoon Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing