We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cuisine”

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Price range: $11 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, backpacker meal deals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Monsoon: it rains... we pour...
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“Fabulous cuisine”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had delicious meal in a warm and beautiful place. Really a beautiful ambience and great food and service

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    160
    52
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great bar! ”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at the monsoon, its a very cosy and cool bar and there are fun competitions nearly every night with awesome prizes (Bungy jumps and skydiving) would defo recommend as the best place for a drink in franz josef!

Helpful?
Thank FromDublinToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punakaiki, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great meal, Great service!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A very relaxing and enjoyable evening spent at the Monsoon bar and restaurant. The food was great and the atmosphere warm and friendly (lovely to see roaring open fires). On top of this the staff were very helpful and professional

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great service,”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

we only had drinks but the bar staff were very friendly!! It was clean, warm and I liked that they could reccomend which wine to drink!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good for the price!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

we stayed in the accommodation anyway, so decided to eat here. the first night we had burgers and chips at $24 each. the burgers even thou well cooked where still juicy and tasty.
the second night we had the garlic bread to share (should be for 3-4 people, as a large portion)
and we shared and pizza. i was not let down by the food it was all great and tasted really great!
be careful as we had eyes bigger than our bellies but the portions where so big!!!
love the feel of the place to, really nice

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Monsoon Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing