We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Price range: $11 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, backpacker meal deals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Monsoon: it rains... we pour...
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved the pizza in the all you can eat pizza offer, only exception was that we arrived bang on the dot at the time it started and we and already missed the chips and garlic bread!

But hey we made up for it!

Atmosphere was brilliant and the setting well appointed. Also loved the huge fire in the outdoor area especially as it was winter!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irishstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    160
    52
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stopped in here for a beer and were surprised by what we found on the inside. It was off season and this place deffo seemed like the place to go to. Full of people. Lovely interior - great spot for drinks. We didn't eat here - the food portions coming from the kitchen looked huge.. Worth a visit...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sin2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, West Coast, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Meals and Great Deals”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Be careful what you order these meals are huge! Lovely dinner lovely company and not to mention the All Blacks live on the telly! Lovely open fire that I think took about 16 logs in one hit warm service, warm atmosphere and warm and toasty by the fire. Oh and the All Blacks one.
Great night

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Massive Meals”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Big portion sizes, great value. Staff helpful, only negative was the music was a bit loud in thr dining area. Fabulous open fire inside and outside. Recommend for a good relaxed meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPearce79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent nights craic in Monsoon”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a great night in Monsoon. Locals and fellow tourists were great,including everyone around. The atmosphere in the bar,the free poll,and the staff,especially Shelley as she stayed open til we had enough drink, all made the night excellent. Thanks all...una and grainne from ireland

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank unasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Monsoon Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing