We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, an amazing flight”

Fox & Franz Josef Heliservices
Ranked #6 of 11 Tours in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fox and Franz Josef Heliservices offer scenic helicopter flights and snow landings above the Fox and Franz Josef glaciers. View Mount Cook, Mount Tasman New Zealands highest peaks. 4 and 6 passenger modern turbine helicopters. Private charters available. Easy to find us on the Main Street at Franz Josef and Fox Glacier.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, an amazing flight”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We woke to light rain the morning of the flight but it cleared. Staff at the Franz Josef office were fabulous and friendly. We chose option 4, the grand daddy of flights over both Fox and Franz Josef glaciers and around Mt Tasman and Mt Cook with a snow landing. Well worth the money! We had a beautiful clear flight and loved every minute of it, a once in a lifetime experience!

Helpful?
Thank hlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    13
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Memorable experience well worth the $”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky to take a morning flight as a family with pilot Baden on a cracker of a day-clear blue skies and no wind. We took the longest and most expensive flight but the day was too good not to. Flying over glaciers with expert commentary was great and plenty of opportunities for photos. We had walked to Fox Glacier the day before but seeing it from the air gives you so much more appreciation of its size. Snow landing was a highlight overlooking Fox Glacier. If you can afford it take The Grand Tour lasting almost 50 mins. Easy to book through office in main street of Fox Glacier- must do experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ozstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Amazing Service! These guys provided a amazing service! Our Pilot J******* was so great very personal service and he was very approachable and showed us the most amazing sights and gave us the great information on everything down to the littlest details on things AMAZING!

10 / 10 guys If is the best thing you can do in Franz or Fox landing on glaciers and mountain tops!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Antarcticsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The skies around Franz Josef buzz with the sound of helicopters so it's hard not to think going up in a helicopter is a 'must-do' and when you've decided that you will actually shell out what is a lot of money, who will you choose and which trip since there are those which offer all sorts of combos. I would thoroughly recommend using this company and to take the longest of the 4 trips which they offer that you can afford. Why? They are a well staffed company who appear to be well trained and give a high level of customer care and safety advice. The helicopters are quite small so give great views to everyone on board, offer huge windows with good photo opportunites and take you right up close to the mountain peaks. You get to actually land on the top of the glacer and get out and walk around which is a totally unique experience.There are companies which offer a hike up the glacier which you might think is a good idea but you're actually tramping up the rather dirty start (or bottom) of the glacier - no-one returns from them with the sort of open-mouthed wonderment that we did. It was a brilliant experience!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Amazing experience.”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Professional and friendly experience from booking the flight, to the end of the flight, I loved it. I only booked the 20 minute flight with the snow landing, because of budget restraints but it was amazing . The pilot was professional and I felt really safe ,It was my first helicopter flight. We swapped seats on the return journey so everyone got chance to sit in the front and the back. The views were awesome........... do it with this firm.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Franz Josef Heliservices also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox & Franz Josef Heliservices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing