We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food at Franz Josef”
Review of Priya Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Priya Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Description: There is already a review on other sites: http://www.menumania.co.nz/restaurants/priya-indian-restaurant-2
Restaurant details
Description: There is already a review on other sites: http://www.menumania.co.nz/restaurants/priya-indian-restaurant-2
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food at Franz Josef”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

As Malaysians, we have had our fair share of tasty Indian food. As such, we were quite skeptical when we entered this restaurant. We had Briyani Chicken rice and vegetarian Dhal curry. The verdict? Excellent! Delicious! We would eat here again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank leesimpang4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice mains and naan bread”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Unfortunately our prawn starter was noticably burnt and when we asked to have them redone, were told that's how they're meant to be! :)

Oh well, our main courses were great and the naan delicious. Was a bit pricey for what we got though.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Suspicious it was frozen food!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

As a lover of Indian food, I was quite disappointed with the quality of the food. While there were Indian waiters, there were Caucasian cooks and this might be the reason for the questionable authenticity of the food. The entree platter was tasteless and we suspected it was frozen food. The main meal was ok. If you really want Indian, you'll definitely get your fix, but if you want the real thing - don't bother. Also the wait staff forgot two drink orders and a food order (which, after realising how bad the entree was, I didn't bother following it up!).

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“I love Indian food but this was really bad food”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The title says it all which is a real shame as we were really looking forward to our supper. to greasy and way too spicy.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratty1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“friendly service good food selection”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

WE ordered a takeaway dish and the food was good as was the service only one thing though we noticed upon our return to our place we awere missing the seasonal vegetables which was to be included in the dish so this was disappointing but everything else was okay. Check everything before you leave the restaurant,the prices of the dishes are reasonable altough it would have been nice to have more beef dishes to choose from.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Priya Indian Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing