We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Franz Josef Glacier Guides
Open today: 7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Franz Josef Glacier Guides
from $316.90
More Info
from $53.58
More Info
Reviews (2,112)
Filter reviews
2,112 results
Traveler rating
1,555
316
106
67
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,555
316
106
67
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helicopter ride hot pools new zealand amazing experience glacier guides once in a lifetime cancelled due hot chocolate full refund great guide blue ice three hours bad weather guided walk south island bucket list highlight of our trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,112 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2020

You know what to expect if you have good weather so I won't be writing about that, I am going to talk about our guide: Zak. He was really good! He did a fantastic job. He does know a lot about the glacier, he keeps the group entertained and does whatever is in his hands to make the experience worthy! We truly recommend the tour and it was more than anything because of him. There is a good 5 minute heli ride to the glacier (stunning views but they are too "serious" about everything relating to the helicopters).
s I ead now (a shame I didn't read the review before) don't pay by card as there is a extra fee if you are an international visitor and for us was an extra $35..

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kia Ora Laura,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to hear you had a an awesome time up on the Glacier Heli Hike with your guide Zak, I am pleased to hear he made your experience good!

I make sure to pass on your kind comments to Zak.

Safety is our number one priority here at the Franz Josef Glacier Guides and yes we do take extra care around the Helicopters due to the hazards in and around them.

Thank you again.

Ngā mihi,
Aimee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

An amazing experience and not something you do everyday!! The only thing I would say to improve is that our guide told us a lot about the Glacier at the end but it would have been better for him to chat on the way round during the walk to make this more interactive!

Thank Sightsee818187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Kia Ora Sightsee818187,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review and provide your feedback.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your Heli Hike with us and you thought the experience was amazing!

I will pass on your feedback to our guides.

Thank you again.

Ngā mihi (Kind Regards),
Aimee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We did the 3hr Glacier Valley Walk and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were keen to see it up close but instead of doing the free walk alone, felt we would benefit from some background and history. Going with a guide really enhanced the experience compared to if we had simply done a return walk. We were kitted up since a storm was due to come in, including fully waterproof gear and big solid shoes which allowed us to walk straight through the streams on the way without having to balance over rocks carefully.

We took a short drive down to the start of the walk and followed the public route for a few minutes before going down a private path through the surrounding forest. Here the guide explained all about the local plants and trees which was much more interesting than it sounds! We rejoined the public path and continued our journey with interesting facts about the region, with our guide finding pieces of ice from the glacier deposited along the way. Due to the heavy rain and winds overnight there was a lot of rockfall so we had to take the more public route but this didn't make it any less enjoyable.

Only issue was our trip was actually 4 hours rather than 3, which meant we were pushed for time as we had something booked that afternoon. Otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable tour

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank msgtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Kia Ora msgtraveller1,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review.

We are really glad you thoroughly enjoyed your Glacier Valley Walk with us and thought the guides knowledge of the Valley and Glacier was fantastic.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the West Coast soon.


Ngā mihi (Kind Regards),
Aimee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Starting with the helicopter ride to the glacier and then navigating the crevices, caves, and tight spots to gain amazing views of the glacier and valley. Well worth the cost. The price includes time in their hot spring which was nice as we went during the winter season. Guides are very knowledgeable and ensure safety throughout the time on the glacier.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank tpatel1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Kia Ora tpatel1975,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience on the Glacier Heli Hike and in the Glacier Hot Pools afterwards, it sure is a once in a life time experience.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Franz Josef Glacier one day soon.


Ngā mihi (Kind Regards),
Aimee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

We were hoping to do one of the heli hikes with this company but our youngest was under the minimum weight limit so we decided to do the valley hike with them instead to have something to do - honestly the initial intention was just a gap filler, but this was a brilliant 3 hours - our guide Meghan was really enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable about the history of the area and the glacier as well as all the rocks and geology - hard to get a 10 year old and an 8 year old excited about rocks, but our girls loved the trip and it was extremely well organised and run - totally recommend it, plus a dip in the hot pools afterwards is fab!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Phill2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Kia Ora Phill2810,

Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to do the Heli Hike due to our minimum weight requirements but I am pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your Glacier Valley Walk!

I will pass on your lovely comments to Meghan your guide!

Thank you again.

Ngā mihi,
Aimee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews