We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”

Franz Josef Glacier Guides
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.97*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk
Ranked #2 of 11 Tours in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magnificent Franz Josef Glacier is widely regarded as the gen of New Zealand’s West Coast Glaciers.Franz Josef Glacier Guides gives you the opportunity to experience the most spectacular glacier environment available to the general public anywhere in the world, offering a range of glacier hiking tours to suit all levels of fitness and ability.We make a clear commitment to you that our trip is the most spectacular and rewarding available.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in the afternoon to check that everything was fine for our walk on the glacier with a heli transfer that we'd booked on line.
To our embarrassment, we discovered that we had made a mistake on the date and had actually booked it for a day earlier, i.e. for the morning that had already passed.
The receptionist was extremely helpful and transferred our booking to the following morning.
We got kitted up the next morning, but the trip was aborted just before we were due to board the heli as the visibility had deteriorated and it was not safe to fly.
We were moved to a later trip that morning, with the staff endeavouring to meet our desire to do the trip as early as possible to fit our subsequent itinerary.
We went out early afternoon with Brett and had a wonderful time, one of the highlights of our New Zealand trip.
Brett was knowledgeable and answered all our questions. He also clearly had a good level of safety awareness.
We had a few minutes to spare before the Haast Pass closed!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    226
    79
    40
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alex Made Our Day!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Super guide Alex made our day on the glacier, with a rocky start the weather was quite foggy and we were unsure if the tour would take place at all. None of the helicopters were flying for the first two hours of the morning and our initial start time tour was cancelled. Alex made us all feel so much better by distracting our group with hilarious stories and tales of the south island! Before we knew it an hour had passed and our tour was back on the cards. The tour was absolutely fabulous, amazing views from the helicopter and the glacier work was perfect - not too short and not too long - just right. Alex was very informative at all stages, made us all feel safe and ensured that everyone got great group photos as well as sampling the glacier 'face mud' which was great fun! Thanks for a brilliant day Alex, you are incredibly good at your job and we really appreciated such a great guide on the day. Thank you!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenuine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We did the Ice Explorer after having had our heli hike cancelled two days in a row due to bad weather. It's worth noting a few things:
- trips do get cancelled often due to weather- if you can afford a bit of flexibility in your trip this
would be the place to spend an extra day just in case
- the ice explorer is less likely to get cancelled than the heli hike (with the scenic flight) which is
why we eventually settled for this

Overall we really enjoyed it. Our guide was absolutely awesome (Phil- thank you!). He really made the trip memorable.

We felt it was a bit expensive though, but there's no cheap way to do this.

(Also a lot of waiting around every day in the office- just a suggestion from improvement would be to have something like a video showing with info about the history of the glacier, or posters, or free biscuits to keep people occupied. Cheap and goes a long way!)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fish1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“thanks Rob (mouse)”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We did the heli hike, after a misty start, with a short delay before the copters could start flying in the morning. Once kitted out with coats, boots and crampons, a short walk over the road and then up , only bout 10 mins and touched down on the glacier. Had 2 hrs wandering about under the leadership of Rob. Bit disappointed we didi not get to the waterfall, however we ran out of time.,we could only go as fast as the slowest person in our group of 12. Quite interesting to see the compressed snow and also,witnessed 3 rock slides a kind of mini avalanche, very loud cracking noise and rocks flying , fortunately Rob knew where to go and not go. Another 10 min flight back down, got changed and received a giddy bag and only made use of the hot pools later in the day included in the package.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJGlacierGuides, Manager at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Kia ora
Sounds like an exciting trip! Will pass onto Rob - thanks for coming, and we hope the rest of your travels were fantastic.
Safe travels
Kerry & the team at Franz Josef Glacier Guides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome guide, view, information and experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Vince took us on the best free guided walk. We saw beauty, rugged land, sweet blue ice, tasted pristine water, slid through melted ice holes & he found great photo ops for us along the way! Awesome tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FurBall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJGlacierGuides, Manager at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Kia ora
Thanks for your feedback - glad to hear you enjoyed the trip. Will pass onto Vince- He'll be happy to hear this!

Safe travels
Kerry & the team at Franz Josef Glacier Guides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franz Josef Glacier Guides also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Franz Josef Glacier Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing