We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chalet in Franz Josef”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Chalet in Franz Josef”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a one night stay in the chalets and we were very pleased with them. The Canadian manageress was very obliging. The set up of the chalet suited us and it was spotless with a lovely modern fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. Although it was just out of town, this wasn't an inconvenience to us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Marilyn!

Thank you so much for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, please do email me if ever you or family should come through Franz Josef again! such a pleasure to have you.
We are happy the chalet offered you everything to make you feel at home, that certainly is our aim.

Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    80
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed there for two nights in the 'Fox' chalet. The motel far exceeded any expectations we had. Having come from Wellington, our chalet was extremely spacious and clean. I must commend the owners on their service - the motel truly has an unique character because of the attentive staff. Although the motel has recently changed hands, the staff were on to it - David was very nice to talk to. It was very good value for money compared to any hotel you may find elsewhere. Will definitely come back next time we are staying!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is very appreciated.

We are very pleased to have been a part of your visit to Franz Josef, able to offer you service and comfort during your stay to make you feel at home is what we hope for. Thank you for the positive feedback, we wish you a wonderful time during the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed there for two nights and it was probably the best 'motel' we have stayed in yet. It was extremely spacious and clean and fully equipped with everything you could want. The new owners are great at running the chalets even though they only took over a few weeks ago. Franz Alpine Retreat far exceeded my expectations...we will return for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you So much for your review, it is much appreciated. It was absolutely our pleasure to have you, thank you for the encouragement.

Hope the rest of your New Zealand travels are amazing, and that the sunshine finds you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is about 5 mins away from town but it's really no problem as everyone drives anyway. We stayed in the unit called Tasman. It's good as it's a corner unit so it is pretty quiet. There are 2 things that makes me give this place 4 stars instead of 5 stars - (1) the 2 bedroom apartment only has 1 toilet to share between 5 of us. If there were 2 toilets, it'll definitely be better (2) the floor is not solid, so it can be noisy when people are walking around the apartment. Having said that, the great service, friendliness, helpfulness and cheerfulness from the Canadian manager makes all these more bearable. I also like it that despite it being an apartment, they do have cleaning service daily.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeNosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, it is much appreciated. It was such a pleasure to have your family stay with us!
I can sympathize with you on the bathrooms! being from a large family myself. I appreciate your comment regarding the flooring, this is something we hope to look into in the year.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Franz Alpine Retreat for Xmas day and it was truly a wonderful experience. I would recommend this stay to everyone. Jen was an amazing host and very helpful via email with any questions we had prior to our arrival. Very enchanting, peaceful location just as shown in the pictures.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for the review! it is much appreciated.
So happy we were able to have you for Christmas and give you a quiet retreat for the holidays.
My pleasure to have you stay with us, wishing you all the best in 2014!
Safe travels home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Franz Alpine Retreat was a wonderful stay which was all thanks to the wonderful hostess Jo (I hope I spelled her name right). She was a treat. Warm, funny and very welcoming.
At arrival she gave us many tips about what to do in the environment which was wonderful seeing as the weather was turning bad and our glacier trip seemed like it was going to be cancelled. She made sure during our stay that everything was in order and was always up for a chat. She made you feel quite at home.

The room was one of the best we had during our trip. There was a good spacious seating area with a soft sofa, 2 chairs and a tv which also had a dvd player. There was a dining room and very spacious kitchen with all the appliances one could want, including an oven.
The bathroom was clean and had a very nice shower.
The bed was nice and firm and the blinds helpt keeping out the sunlight.

I warmly recommend this retreat to everybody visiting Franz Josef. It's a bit out of town so you have to take your car there. If you can, don't get gas here, but do this in another town on your trip because gas here is expensive.

From the retreat you have a view upon the glacier with good weather. We only had ok weather on the day we arrived so we only saw it for a short while, but still it was wonderful. Because the environment where the retreat is is a very open space, you can see the weather changing which you can do from the comfort inside or on your porch.

We didn't use any facilities outside the room so I can't comment on this, but the room itself, together with Jo make it a place to stay and feel at home already

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ucchan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for the review! it is much appreciated. So sorry the weather was not ideal, but happy your time in Franz was enjoyable, you were a delight to host.
Wishing you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay in December 2013…in fact we just checked out today. Jen greeted us with such lovely genuine enthusiasm and as we were earlier than the normal check in we were expecting to be told to come back later…no.. Jen welcomed us and was more than helpful with organising things and letting us know what was in the area. We were planning on doing a hike the next day out to the glacier but when we woke up it was raining and more like staying in and watching DVD's all day…so thats what we did after a brief drive out to Fox Glacier and a stop in town to pick up supplies we headed back to our cabin to use the DVD's from reception…kids loved a movie day all rugged up…and by the afternoon the weather had cleared enough to head out and do a brief hike before enjoying the Glacier hot pools.

Thanks Jen for all of your service…will definitely recommend Franz Alpine Retreat

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgeedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your time even though the weather was not the best. You were such a pleasure to have stay with us! Wishing you safe travels and a Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing