We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a luxury accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not a luxury accomodation”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked this hotel trusting their web site ("a luxury retreat") and the excellent reviews they had on Tripadv. Unfortunately we experienced something very different. The person at the reception was very unwelcoming. Bungalows are newly furnished, but basic. Beds are small and unconfortable. Rooms were very cold. But the worst part was the breakfast: scarce quantities, low quality, frozen bread and expired kornflakes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwitaliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    80
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

stayed here for two nights on our way to Queenstown from Christchurch to give our two children a break from travelling and it was the best choose we made while on holidays in New Zealand..
Jo was a wonderful host made us very welcomed, the accommodation was 5 star. Home away from Home had everything you needed. Will stay here again when we next come to New Zealand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juls587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Self contained unit with all you need and more. Jo was a great host, she couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome, friendly and helpful from the outset with good tourist advice. Also she was very accomodating changing our reservations when our travel plans got messed up due to road closures. Really took the stress off! The units were very well decorated and fitted out. The electric blankets kept us cosy at night. Really felt like a home away from home. Enjoyed chilling out here after our day of adventures. Bottle of wine on our last night a thoughtful gift from Jo. Continental breakfast was a good start to our day. Loved our stay here and hope to make a return visit in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We arrived late at night...the heater had been put on for us which made the room very comfortable for us. The next day we were given excellent local advice. When we left, we forgot to take some DVDs of ours. The host made the effort to mail them onto our next hotel...no cost to us..now that is service above the call!

Room Tip: franz josef room is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here with our family. The service was outstanding, very helpful and generous. The rooms were great and the chalet is in a quiet location. Jo was a great host and we would love to come back. Thanks for an awesome time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weber_m_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here with 4 other mates. Awesome place...great facilities and Jo our host was the best ever...helped us with finding out the best things to do locally, tips on saving money and maximising trip value and helped us out with stuff we needed for our cooking

Recommended to anyone and everyone. To top it all off the location and scenery is to die for

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parvez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very friendly and helpful manager. Felt very welcome. The chalet was lovely we wished we had stayed more than one night. Lovely and quiet location. The chalet was warmed perfectly for our arrival. One of the best places we stayed on our 2 week trip around the South Islland. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing