We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here with our family. The service was outstanding, very helpful and generous. The rooms were great and the chalet is in a quiet location. Jo was a great host and we would love to come back. Thanks for an awesome time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weber_m_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 290 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here with 4 other mates. Awesome place...great facilities and Jo our host was the best ever...helped us with finding out the best things to do locally, tips on saving money and maximising trip value and helped us out with stuff we needed for our cooking

Recommended to anyone and everyone. To top it all off the location and scenery is to die for

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parvez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very friendly and helpful manager. Felt very welcome. The chalet was lovely we wished we had stayed more than one night. Lovely and quiet location. The chalet was warmed perfectly for our arrival. One of the best places we stayed on our 2 week trip around the South Islland. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our chalet was not ready when we arrived, in fact they had lost our booking and were full. However, the hostess was able to prepare a chalet that had been closed for the winter, and it was delightful. Far better than any motel we experienced in NZ traveling with extended family. The living room and dining room gave us room to spread out. The kitchen allowed us to cook our own dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our chalet at Franz Alpine Retreat exceeded our expectations by far. We were welcomed on a cold winters night by such helpful and kind staff. They ensured our chalet was kept warm for our arrival and even put on the electric blankets! As we arrived fairly late, we were grateful to receive a restaurant recommendation along with a voucher for 2 free drinks. We were told how to get around and which glacier walks were suited to us. Not only did we experience such friendly staff and services, but our chalet was very tidy, modern and most of all comfortable. We had a great night sleep and watched sky movies on a cosy couch. We were offered DVDs as well. The chalet was fully equipped with all the kitchen facilities needed to self-cater and small extras such as candles made our stay all the more special. Overall we had a delightful experience at Franz Alpine Retreat and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Franz Josef.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Superb accommodation in your own little "bungalow". In fact not all that little - you could quite easily live in one. Very well equipped with a full kitchen, living/dining area and two bedrooms (one double, one twin). Big telly. Own personal parking. The only problem is the distance from town - it's a few km and not possible to walk. There is nothing else in the immediate vicinity. I guess this is fine if you self-cater, but a bit of a pain if you want to stroll to a choice of restaurants. The lady was helpful and nice, but misled us somewhat about petrol prices - she told us to make sure we brimmed the tank in Fox Glacier as petrol would rocket in price the further down the west coast we got. This is not so - we paid more in Fox than anywhere else on the entire trip (almost 3000km), and EVERY place we came to after that was cheaper, including tiny, remote Te Anau. Maybe she has shares in the Fox petrol station! Only top up if you need to (but don't risk running out - distances are greater than you think!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Booked an overnight stay through GrabOne, great value received. Well appointed chalets. Nice and warm when we arrived as heating had been turned on for us - nice gesture. Self contained units with everything you need to make meals. Continental breakfast received was yummy & great start to the day. Received awesome tips about the area and excellent advice about helicopter flights over the glaciers. She gladly booked this in for us and we had a fantastic time. Was nice being in a town where everyone is friendly, trusting and always smiling. Would recommend & stay again. Maybe next time two nights so can enjoy the town a bit more and relax on the really comfy couch!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissParisO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
376 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $136 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment. Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet. Other facilities within the complex include Book exchange, DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities available, Kiwi "continental" breakfast and activity bookings. A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing