We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been excellent but for location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
244 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Would have been excellent but for location...”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Superb accommodation in your own little "bungalow". In fact not all that little - you could quite easily live in one. Very well equipped with a full kitchen, living/dining area and two bedrooms (one double, one twin). Big telly. Own personal parking. The only problem is the distance from town - it's a few km and not possible to walk. There is nothing else in the immediate vicinity. I guess this is fine if you self-cater, but a bit of a pain if you want to stroll to a choice of restaurants. The lady was helpful and nice, but misled us somewhat about petrol prices - she told us to make sure we brimmed the tank in Fox Glacier as petrol would rocket in price the further down the west coast we got. This is not so - we paid more in Fox than anywhere else on the entire trip (almost 3000km), and EVERY place we came to after that was cheaper, including tiny, remote Te Anau. Maybe she has shares in the Fox petrol station! Only top up if you need to (but don't risk running out - distances are greater than you think!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    80
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Booked an overnight stay through GrabOne, great value received. Well appointed chalets. Nice and warm when we arrived as heating had been turned on for us - nice gesture. Self contained units with everything you need to make meals. Continental breakfast received was yummy & great start to the day. Received awesome tips about the area and excellent advice about helicopter flights over the glaciers. She gladly booked this in for us and we had a fantastic time. Was nice being in a town where everyone is friendly, trusting and always smiling. Would recommend & stay again. Maybe next time two nights so can enjoy the town a bit more and relax on the really comfy couch!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissParisO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

These are basically mobile homes… the floors squeeked every time you walked across the room. The management was helpful. This place lacked personal touches – one piece of art in the entire place! The accommodation was sufficient… spacious and well equipped kitchen. While not fantastic, I would stay here again and recommend it since I think it’s a good value for Franz Josef.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here in early May and had a great night, the chalet is a demountable but very well appointed with a fabulous shower and really everything you could need to cook and relax. The bed was really comfortable, we had others in other locations that were quite soggy. Jo at reception was great, good knowledge of the area and very helpfully. The view from the chalet of the glacier was uninterupted. We would definitely stay again and have been telling all our friends and family about the Retreat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneb24412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Nice room and fully furnished. You can bake ,fried and do any hot cooking with their fully equipped inside the room. Living room , cooking area rest room and 2 bed room are very good organized. Very good zone not far from the center and not too close. I love this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Owner at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thanks very much for your great feedback. Our guests do love the fact that they have a full kitchen to cook their own meals in the chalets; it feels like a home away from home. It's always nice to cook your own food when you're away on a long trip and I'm glad you made the most of the opportunity with us at JAG Escape.
I wish you well on your travels and hope to see you return to the magnificent Glacier region and JAG Escape!
Kind regards
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a great 2 night stay in one of the cabins here. Our host was very welcoming & made sure we were well looked after, we felt like we'd made a new friend by the time we left! Our unit was spotlessly clean & comfortable, we had no trouble with noise from other guests or traffic...it was a real pleasure to stay in this fine establishment, definitely one of the highlights of our stay on the West Coast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank van_kent911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Owner at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Wow! It sounds like you guys had a great time with us and thanks for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It doesn't matter how many times I visit our retreat, it is always one of the most relaxing places I've been. The scenery is spectacular, you're away from the hustle of town, vehicles and backpacker parties, and it's a great place to spread out, sit back and just enjoy this very special place.
Thanks once again for your kind feedback; we really appreciate people taking the time to review our property and service. All the very best on your travels.
Regards
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just stayed the one night after getting a GrabOne deal. Jo was great, helpful and ever so friendly & giving all the info we needed. Unit was great and comfortable, modern and spotlessly clean. She even lent us umbrellas to help with the pouring rain while we walked up to the glacier. Thanks Jo - your enthusiasm and help was much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Owner at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hi Heather
Thanks very much for your glowing feedback and I'm rapt that you enjoyed your stay with us in Franz Josef. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful manager in Jo who really goes that extra mile to make our guests feel welcome. Not only is Jo a great host, she is also a fastidious cleaner and we find that great service and a nice clean modern chalet appeals to the vast majority of guests.
Thanks once again for taking the time to review our property; we hope to see you back one day soon!
Regards
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing