We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franz Alpine Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Booked this based on tripadvisor and very happy. Cabins are airy and have lovely views from loungeroom (we were in franz).
Location is fine and the staff here are very friendly.
Definately recommend

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davejlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    80
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
103
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at Franz Josef Retreat! The houses were modern, nicely decorated, modern and big. A few miles away from the city but still ok. I would recommend this to any group of travellers. There was no service really, but nice facilities to prepare own breakfast.

Room Tip: I'd say all of the houses are luxurius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupuna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom chalet. Clean and modern accommodation with spacious living/dining area. Very helpful manager. Short drive to town centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovegoodadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was really great. The chalets are very comfortable, spacious and modern. With a kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a very nice living room. Just sit outside and enjoy the great area. Internet is availible, but you have to buy a coupon.
We had a really nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Basic. Chalet's are pre-fabricated portacabins, which give the feeling of being a bit echoey. They're also a little too close to each other. Having said that, for the price, they represented very good value for money. The cabins were very clean, and fairly well equipped. The Managers were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place for the budget conscious traveler.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Franz Alpine Retreat is a wonderful place to stay while in the Franz Josef glacier area. Its a quick 5 minute drive to town so it's relatively convenient but a car is necessary. We stayed in a stand alone chalet with parking for 1 car, 2 bedrooms, a kitchen with a gas stove, microwave, fridge, utensils, pots, etc... The place is well appointed with modern furniture, a small flat screen TV and DVD player. The proprietor of the place, JO, also has a selection of DVDs for viewing including the Lord of the Rings. Jo is a very helpful with great knowledge of the area and offered great advice. The only drawback with the place was the inconsistent WiFi access. In addition, although Booking.com states WiFi is free, this is not true, since you need to buy vouchers for WiFi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moving_furnisale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The hotel has beautiful independent chalets - complete with modern furnishing and amenities. ( & free wifi! ). The rooms look exactly like the ones shown on their website. Its a 10 minutes drive to the centre of the city - but if you are in franz josef you mostly have your own vehicle. The manager Claire - is an extremely sweet lady who was very helpful with everything we wanted. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hankuna_Matata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Alpine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Property: Franz Alpine Retreat
Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing