We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but nothing to rave about”
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Terrace Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Whangaroa, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable but nothing to rave about”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here, five of us for 2 nights, it rained solidly the entire time so we spent a lot of time in the unit! Was comfortable with tv. The toilet broke and was leaking water all over the floor, and although we told the staff nothing seemed to get done about it, they gave us some towels to soak the water but that was it. The unit was a bit cold overall, and right on the main road, it was just a bit odd. The beds had electric blankets so we weren't cold at night. Was a good place for a short visit to franz Josef.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg-NZmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your comments, next time you return I hope there will be less rain.

I recall your visit and am sorry there was a small amount of water at the back of the toilet. We did offer to call a plumber while you were staying however you said you would prefer for us to get a plumber after you checked out as it was not a major problem for you. Unfortunately we only have one 2 bedroom Cottage so we could not offer to move you to another room.

The two bedroom cottage you booked is set away from the main motel complex, backing onto a quiet side street, which we indicate on the room descriptions for this room when someone is booking it. While the Cottage is around the corner from the motel it is very large Cottage.

I am glad you found the electric blankets useful, if guests are ever cold we have additional electric heaters which guests are welcome to borrow from reception - however we find this is rarely needed given the in room heating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    118
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
71
174
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Thank you, very much for this experience. Apartment was really nice, modern and tidy. We have checked some other motels in Franz Josef but this one was simply the best. We were provided with great services by front desk and will definitely come to to Terrace motel again.
I can highly recommend this place to all other travelers.

Room Tip: Talk to the onsite manager, he will pick the right room for you to suit your budget and expectation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertWolf705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Robert

Thanks for your nice comments, I hope you can come back this way and stay again.

People are always welcome to come in and look at room options but if you want certainty as the town can get very full at certain times of the year, book direct on our website for the best prices and avoid paying higher prices on third party sites. The best prices are always on our web site or by contacting us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After a long drive from Arrowtown, this Motel did not live up to our expectations, it surpassed them! After a warm and helpful welcome, we were shown to the room which was spacious, clean and well equipped. We took the advice of the staff and took a walk (in the dark) up a nearby track to see the Glow worms. The Motel enjoys a great view of the glacier (which is a few minutes away by car) and is about a minutes walk from the shops. I would definitely recommend the Motel to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbadger1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am glad you got to see the free glow worms, I never get bored by them.

I hope you can stay with us again, with the fresh snow in the mountains the views are really wonderful at present.

Book direct on our website for the best rates, if you are passing this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My family of 7 stayed at Terrace Motel’s cottage for 1 night on 4 March 2014. The cottage was very spacious, clean and well-equipped. The motel was located approx. 100m off the main road, but was within walking distance to town, where the restaurants/offices for various attractions etc were located.
The lady at the reception was very friendly and her positive attitude was much appreciated after a long drive from Queenstown, Even though we arrived after the desk closing time of 8pm, she took the time to point out the dining options, locations of our meeting points for our skydive/tours and the glow worm caves (which we did not have enough time to explore).
A very pleasant stay at Terrace Motel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your nice review, I hope you were able to rest after your long drive and hopefully next time you can see the free glow worms. If you come back to Franz Josef, remember to book direct on our website for the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Room was clean and exactly what we needed. Good heating and comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful service advising us how to walk to see Glacier. Good laundry facilities. Free internet a plus. Would happily stay again as was value for money

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrewgifkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Location good and close to glacier, and main road. Room (hotel style) was clean and well presented and had an extra bed. Parking was a little tight. Staff gave good advice but there was no information pack in the room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 052012v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Following a highly stressful evening due to our car breaking down out at the Franz Josef Glacier carpark, we stumbled upon Logan, owner of The Terrace, still hard at work at 10.30pm. We could not have experienced better service, more kindness or greater empathy if we had been at home with our family. Having not eaten all day, Logan organised for us to go down to The Landing, a local restaurant and bar, for the owner Ryan to make us a delicious late night meal, and he told us of a beautiful little glow worm dell just near the motel so that we would have some positive memories of the area. He also generously gave us a bottle of wine to cheer us up after our issues with the car. The room was absolutely lovely, the beds were comfortable, the amenities were great and the feel of the room was one of peace, quiet, warmth and welcome. I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to any traveller, and I would more than happily stay here again. That said, it was Logan's caring and generous nature as well as his obvious passion for the Franz Josef area that made our unplanned stay such a wonderfully unexpected delight! Thanks for making me love the Glacier again Logan! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebolitho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I hope someone found your key in the end and you were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday without it affecting your trip too much. I hope you and your sister pass through this way again one day and have a less stressful visit next time. I will make sure Ryan sees your comments as well.

Logan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Property: The Terrace Motel
Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing