We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb motel in good position.”
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Terrace Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed there for two nights and couldn't fault the motel. The room was clean and modern with comfortable beds. The position of the motel is also excellent, not on the main road but only a couple of minute walk to town centre. Staff were very friendly. What more could anyone want?

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 326 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Franz Josef is really a town for people who want to experience fun, thrills and nature and as such, there is a tremendous range of places to stay. The Terrace Motel gets our vote.
Good sized rooms with a comfortable bed, shower room/toilet and a compact kitchen area with all the utensils you need. There is the thoughtful complimentary small bottle of milk given to you when you arrive and if it's information you need of what to do and with which company to do it with, ask the owner, Logan. He is a mine of information and very helpful.

Room Tip: Consult Logan before you book trips. He gives good advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobCScotinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Close to town, nice staff and very clean place. Stayed two nights during my trip through the south island. The staff and the owner are really helpful and make you feel welcome anytime. Will definitely recommend this motel in future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rikke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The room was very clean and spacious, it has a kitchen with everything you need. They even provide salt and pepper. I thought that was very thoughtful.

The host Logan was very friendly and helpful. We had a very enjoyable stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very clean, good location and wonderful staff. Extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The beds are comfortable and have heat pads so they stay warm. The owner will go out of his way to make your stay fun and memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great staff ! Up to date rooms that were very clean, not to mention this is a great location. You can walk to restaurants and get a view of the Glacier !! Also to boot Wifi is free! Compared to what I saw in the area I was very pleased with our choice of the Terrace.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were given a Nice Warm welcome and all the information to make our (unfortunetely) short stay a very pleasant experience. The motel was very spacious and a nice surprise. The only issue was that the Wifi connectivity was limited.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Owner at The Terrace Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

I am glad you had a good stay and thanks for your comments.

As per my above comments I hope we now have all wifi issues resolved by getting one of the aerials reset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $93 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing