We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel, off the main road, very helpful owners.”
Review of The Terrace Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Terrace Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great motel, off the main road, very helpful owners.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in Franz Josef for 2 nights at the Terrace Motel. We usually like to stay off the main road, in a comfortable, middle of the road accommodation within easy access to whatever the town has to offer. It also has to be clean. The Terrace Hotel fitted the bill well, and the hosts were very friendly, knowledgable and accommodating. I accidentally left some clothes in the cupboard and it was absolutely no trouble to get them back to melbourne within a few days,
The restaurant next door was a bonus, although most of the restaurants in Franz Josef is within a5minute walk of the Terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FammyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review Fammy, it was a pleasure having you and the other I-site girls staying with us. yes we are very lucky to be within 200 meters of five restaurants and only a few steps to the center of town. We were happy to assist with postage of your left behind items and so glad that they got to you safe and sound! Natasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    113
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
171
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Tom and Rosemary are friendly and especially helpful with our helicopter booking and give us many suggestions to visit around.
good location just walking distance to everything, quiet place
value for money, clean room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shutingchen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we were more than happy to assist with your helicopter/glacier bookings. We can book most local activities direct from our reception, and provide information on many different excursions . We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything clean and comfortable. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

As a family with teenage children, we are looking for good value, with a bit of space. Terrace ticked all the boxes. A well appointed, clean and motel with welcoming Hosts, who were very helpful.
The motel is very handy to restaurants, shops and tourist activity booking agents.
I absolutely recommend it!

Room Tip: Stayed in a front room, noise not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very lucky with our location, being central but still very quiet at night, ensuring a good nights sleep! We are thrilled that we ticked all the boxes for you! thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We picked this place for a powered site only because it was the first one we found coming through Franz Joseph heading north in the dark and needed a place to stay after a long drive. The staff was very courteous and helpful eventually however the bathroom/toilets were not very nice (very wet inside and toilet seat wet from shower + no where to put your stuff + shower in dark as light did not work). We purchased wi-fi which did not reach our powered site so we had to sit in office until it closed - however the wi-fi ran out before then (which already cost more than anywhere else we had stayed on South Island).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsh1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review for our powered campervan sites.
We are sorry that they did not meet your expectations. The shower/toilet cubicles are modern and maintained to a high standard of cleanliness and throughly cleaned every day, however late at night with a busy campervan park, they can be used often and condensation from the showers can cause facilities to become wet. There are hand rails, hooks, shelves and basins with space to put items on either side.
The light bulbs are checked every morning, we would have happily replaced the bulb if informed.
With regards to the wi-fi, it is fitted around the motel, and extends to most of the campervan park but there are a few blank spots. You are always welcome to sit in reception to access your devices. We use an internet provider that caters for motels/hotels and is used by many other businesses in the south island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Terrace Hotel for two nights in early June 2013. We were delighted with the room which was spacious and comfortable and had a separate bathroom which was very nice. It was lovely to be able to spread out so much and the mountain view from the window was a real treat. The owner is very friendly and has lots of information to share. We followed his advice and had a thoroughly enjoyable visit to Franz Joseph and surrounds. The motel is centrally located to everything. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possumcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, We are glad your enjoyed our view studio, which provides a beautiful view of the mountain, which you can enjoy whilst having your morning coffee! Tom, Rosemary and myself are more than happy to provide information on any activities in and around Franz Joseph and help with bookings, we are thrilled that you found our advice and guidance helpful! Thanks again, Natasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Franz Joseph is a lovely compact town and the Terrace Motel was both well appointed and well situated. We had one of the nicest rooms in our travels, with a great little restaurant right next door. The staff were extremely helpful in booking a helicopter flight to see the glaciers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Terrace Motel, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Franz Joseph Glacier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Terrace Motel is an excellent, clean motel located in the compact town of Franz Joseph. Restaurants, groceries, shopping and tour activity offices are all within a few blocks of the motel. The parking and hiking areas for the Franz Joseph Glacier are just a short drive away.

Our room was very large and included cooking facilities, although we did not use them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMFJ, Manager at The Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Terrace Motel, We are very happy that you found our location and services satisfactory. We are within walking distance of everything Franz Joseph has to offer. Lots of our rooms include cooking facilities, which guests find handy if you are missing a home cooked meal! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,347 reviews
0.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Motel

Property: The Terrace Motel
Address: 15 Cowan Street, Box 44, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing