We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, unique style of accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Excellent, unique style of accomodation”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location, village centre, yet on a quite street backing on to forest

The room contained all we needed and was very clean. Would highly reccomend it to other travellers.

Took a helicopter flight which was also excellent

Room Tip: Most rooms appeared to have great views, there only looked to be 2-3 that would have restricted view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear John J
Thank You for taking the time to write a review,I will pass on to the staff your comments on the
very clean room. They work hard to maintain a high standard.

We are please that you enjoyed the Helicopter flight. Some people miss out if they only stay 1 night,
Staying 2 nights in our rainforest area gives, one additional chances of having a breath taking flight over the Glaciers.
thank you once again I hope that you have wonderful memories and photos of your New Zealand trip.
Regards your Hosts Tom and Rosemary Skinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    102
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
142
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent location offering breataking views! Car park in front of the cottage. Modern style fully equipped cottages offer an amazing experience. all cottages have an outside sitting area that offers excellent views of the scenery nearby. The couple who takes care of the facility are very nice and can guide you around. Highlight is the nearby located spa which offers 4 different hot water pools and spa therapies! you get a discount if you book through the cottage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gauravbparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear GauravbParikh
Thank you for the positive response.
We are happy you found we delivered excellent, measure for cleanliness , value, location and sleep quality.
The sleep quality may be due to our wonderful mountain and rainforest air.
We are lucky to have the Hot pools in our town, they are certainly great after a day hiking at the glaciers.
regards
Tom and Rosemary Skinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed a two-night stay at 10 Cottages and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We recommend asking for one of the ten free-standing cottages nearest the rain forest ... we were treated to our first glimpses of the fantails birds and loved listening to the forest after returning from dinner. The rooms have a wee fridge and microwave, comfortable beds (each room has a double and a single bed) and the cottages are located right behind the Terrace Motel (check in there), one block off Hwy. 6. The town is fairly small but 10 Cottages is that same block away from The Landing, a great pub/restaurant .. and there is a bakery a couple blocks up Hwy 6 in the direction of Fox Glacier. The Kiwi House is one-half block away. The staff in the 10 Cottages office were wonderfully helpful in all aspects, helping with glacier walks, directions, etc. We highly recommend 10 Cottages!

Room Tip: Ask for the ones next to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Irish Writer,
Thank you fro staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the fantail birds they are so friendly- it is delightful to see them.

We take pride in maintaining the cottages and are pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. Thank you for your wonderful review .

Regards
Tom and Rosemary Your Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent two nights here and found the wee stand-alone cottages great. Close to each other, but still private. There's something special about using the bathroom facilities listening to native birdsong! Had no trouble finding the place and it was very comfortable, clean and had all the facilities we required. Handy to town, restaurants and hot pools. Host very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hottees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank You for your kind words.
It always makes us happy to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay.
The bird song is a joy- so glad you liked it.
We take pride in having the rooms at a high standard of cleanliness .
we appreciate your feed back
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Tom and Rosemary Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This location is within a few minutes drive, even walking distance, from the township.

Very handy to restaurants and the Scenic Helicopter Flights.

The cottages complex seems new and only offers a Microwave - no cooktop.

They are more of a free standing motel room than a cottage and they are all very closely clustered together.

However, we were only there for one night and it was very clean with a very good bed and pillows.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were only passing through Franz Josef so required only one nights accommodation. Slight trouble finding the reception turns out that is based on the street over from the cottages at The Terrace motel.
The cottage itself was clean, bed comfortable, small kitchenette and freeview tv. Basic but everything we required.
Parking was a little on the tight side but street parking would be available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us.
We are trying our best to sort out the reception/office issue by giving advance notice to our guests upon booking on where to check in. We are pleased to know you'd consider staying again if visiting the Glacier Region in the future. We are more than happy to welcome you back.

Regards,
10 Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
529 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

You check in for 10 Cottages just around the corner at a motel, with friendly and helpful service. The receptionist immediately provided a detailed map of the area, marking places she recommended and answering any questions we had. Our unit looked a bit like a corrugated metal shed with a sliding glass door from the front, but inside where it counts, was everything we needed. In the room with comfortable bed and plenty of room were a minifridge, hair dryer, kitchen sink, microwave, glasses, dishes, utensils, TV, and blow dryer. There was even a little private Laundromat with a couple of washers and dryers available for a few two-dollar coins.

Everything in town is within walking distance, and they had booked a glacier walk for us with Franz Joseph Glacier Guides. I thought the price for the helicopter transport up and back, and the three hour glacier walk, was pretty steep before we did the walk. Afterward I decided the price was a bargain—don’t miss this one. It was one of the highlights of our three weeks in New Zealand.

Two minor issues that should not affect your decision to stay here: wi-fi is provided in blocks of 50MB per night, which is plenty if you just want to email and file a TripAdvisor report or two; but don’t think about sending large files, such as photos, back home, unless you want to pay for extra capacity. The speed is very slow at times, but that may well be a problem throughout this fairly isolated town. And like many hotels, there’s a sign in the bathroom indicating where to put towels if you want them washed. Also, as in many hotels, this one is ignored by the cleanup people, and our towels were washed after only one use.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Property: 10 Cottages
Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing