We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough for another stay in the future if needed”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were only passing through Franz Josef so required only one nights accommodation. Slight trouble finding the reception turns out that is based on the street over from the cottages at The Terrace motel.
The cottage itself was clean, bed comfortable, small kitchenette and freeview tv. Basic but everything we required.
Parking was a little on the tight side but street parking would be available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us.
We are trying our best to sort out the reception/office issue by giving advance notice to our guests upon booking on where to check in. We are pleased to know you'd consider staying again if visiting the Glacier Region in the future. We are more than happy to welcome you back.

Regards,
10 Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for 10 Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 252 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

You check in for 10 Cottages just around the corner at a motel, with friendly and helpful service. The receptionist immediately provided a detailed map of the area, marking places she recommended and answering any questions we had. Our unit looked a bit like a corrugated metal shed with a sliding glass door from the front, but inside where it counts, was everything we needed. In the room with comfortable bed and plenty of room were a minifridge, hair dryer, kitchen sink, microwave, glasses, dishes, utensils, TV, and blow dryer. There was even a little private Laundromat with a couple of washers and dryers available for a few two-dollar coins.

Everything in town is within walking distance, and they had booked a glacier walk for us with Franz Joseph Glacier Guides. I thought the price for the helicopter transport up and back, and the three hour glacier walk, was pretty steep before we did the walk. Afterward I decided the price was a bargain—don’t miss this one. It was one of the highlights of our three weeks in New Zealand.

Two minor issues that should not affect your decision to stay here: wi-fi is provided in blocks of 50MB per night, which is plenty if you just want to email and file a TripAdvisor report or two; but don’t think about sending large files, such as photos, back home, unless you want to pay for extra capacity. The speed is very slow at times, but that may well be a problem throughout this fairly isolated town. And like many hotels, there’s a sign in the bathroom indicating where to put towels if you want them washed. Also, as in many hotels, this one is ignored by the cleanup people, and our towels were washed after only one use.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Compact units but had all we wanted for two nights. Very clean with little mini kitcehn area with sink and microwave but no hob. Parking outside cottages a little limited and was not sure which parking spot we should have parked in. Close to main street. Found staff very helpful

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth/Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

These compact (8 * 4 meter) cabins are located just 150 meters from the center of town just one street east of the main road. Check in is at the Terrace Motel next door.

Our cabin was equipped to sleep three, was well heated, and had a small table and three chairs. The kitchenette included a microwave, fridge and sink.

It was an absolute delight to wake up to a view of a snowcapped peak right from our bed. I believe cabins one through five all have this beautiful view.

Room Tip: Suggestyou ask for cabin 1 through 5
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to share a beautiful part of the region with you on your stay here. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

i stayed at 10 cottages for 2 nights and though i have nothing to complain about the services,the attitude of the hosts towards us was very rude and uncalled for..i accidently spilled some curry on the bed linen and the host charged 80 dollars from us.that's fine and i agreed to pay for it immediately but she was very rude in this matter.these things happen and she should have been gracious about it.one doesnt expect behavior like that in the hospitality industry

Room Tip: the rooms are good
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arpit1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Arpit,
Thank you for your feedback and for rating our rooms, cleanliness and service 4 out of 5.
We pride ourselves on maintaining a very high standard and our staff work very hard to achieve this and we will pass this on to them.

This review is 11 months after staying with us.
To refresh your memory a contribution of $60 was charged to you not $80 as stated.
Check-out was made without informing us of the damage to the duvet and the bed spread.
You returned later to collect items left behind and still did not mention the accident and at that stage we brought the damage to your attention.
We were very upset that you had left without advising us of your accident that food has been spilt on the duvet and bed spread, as this was curry which is impossible to remove (if any one know a method of removing curry stains, I would be pleased to know).
The $60 was to cover only the dry cleaning cost but unfortunately both the duvet and bed spread needed to be replaced. The contribution of $60 was far below the replacement value.
We have been in the Hospitality for over 16 years and are always generous if the guest informs us of any incident, breakage or accident they may have had.

We can only apologise for our behavior and if you feel we have treated you unfairly.

Regards,
Tom and Rosemary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

10 Cottages exceeded our expectations. The cottage was new, spacious and clean. Little noise from guests in neighboring cottages as they are detached. The staff were friendly and helpful. A very nice place to stay for the price!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and it had a bit of a view of the mountains, it was also more separated from the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We are pleased to read that your stay exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

10 Cottages is a great place; very clean, modern, great value, cozy, well equipped cottage. The location is great as well and in walking distance to mostly everything (especially the hot glacial pools down the road :-) The cottage was cozy with plenty of room for our luggage and all our things. highly recommend 10 Cottages for anyone stopping for one night or many in Franz Joseph!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Aaron,

Thanks for your great comments about your stay with us.
We really appreciate you taking time to review us and highly recommending us.

Warm regards from the 10 Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $89 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing