We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good sized cottage”
Review of 10 Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
10 Cottages
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and good sized cottage”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our cottage in spacious, clean and in a great location. You are 5 minutes away from the restaurants, hot pools and glacier tours. There is parking available.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    103
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
146
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Got here in the afternoon the staff went out of their way to explain every thing that we needed to know .
Room on the small size but new. Clean. And everything worked. A very quiet location only 3minutes from the center of town.the bathroom cosy but heck we are not living in it only sleeping and washing. This place and town a must visit but relax and take two days.when traveling less is more .
Spend more time in fewer places and relax. Richard

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

10 cottages was clean, neat and tidy with very friendly staff and centrally located. A very easy walk to main street. We stayed on new years eve and it was so quiet we didn't hear any partying at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBond55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while we visited the Glaciers. It was a central location - we would have walked everywhere except a nearby neighbour had a rottweiler that gave us a not so friendly, up close and personal 'hello' on our first walk! So we drove anyway, but it was a very central spot.
The room was comfortable and clean, and staff were friendly. We had a look around, and for the price this was definitely the pick of the places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your compliments.
We can only apologise for the over-friendly dog of our neighbor.
They have left town and living out of Franz Josef now along with their dog.
Again, Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just been there for 1 night and turned out to be nightmare.Stayed in their Sunshine Cottage ( 2 bedrooms) in the city center.Full of noise until late night as the cottage is next to parking area of camper van.Kids awake almost the whole night as no fan or air condition or ventilation.No information that check out time is 10am.The cottages staff stand in front of your door just before 11 to kick you out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taufik_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose_tom10, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Taufik_sd,
Thank you for your comments.
We can only apologise for any noise from the surrounding area. We usually are a very quiet town.
We are sorry your children were unsettled after their long journey to our village.
Air conditioner is not provided in the room as guests usually open windows to allow air circulation and a fan could have been provided if requested.
The standard Check-Out time through-out New Zealand is 10:00A.M. The check-out time is written on your key and in the room compendium. Our staff only went to check if the room had been vacated 1 hour after the normal check out time.
We wish you well with your travels.

Tom and Rosemary Skinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We are. Traveling around NZ and this accommodation was really good value. Well appointed, spotlessly clean, centrally located, good Internet access and nice staff.
Perfect!

Room Tip: Unit one has great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Very cute, cosy and clean accommodation. Modern interiors, and from exterior one cannot just imagine that how beautiful and spacious it can be from inside. Really loved our stay there, It was a comfortable one indeed. Very helpful and understanding staff as well. Overall, excellent experience at a very reasonable price. Good value for money in true sense.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharuDawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Property: 10 Cottages
Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing