We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome, sights and services.”
Review of Air Safaris

Air Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our fixed wing scenic flights promise an incredible view of the mighty Franz and Fox Glaciers and rugged Westland National Park before traversing Mount Cook to explore the vast Mount Cook National Park. Every seat a window seat – get the big picture! Experience breathtaking alpine scenery on an exciting scenic glacier flight with Air Safaris from their base at Franz Josef in Westland National Park on the West Coast - a must-do South Island tourist attraction.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Totally awesome, sights and services.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was reluctant in leaving my footprints on the glaciers. Plus, I had a marvelous experience with fixed wing in Denali (Alaska), so I chose fixed wing over helicopter at Franz Josef.
Air Safari delivered much more than they advertised. The flight was long to see the farms, town, coastlines, all the glaciers, important mountain peaks, from low to really high overview...a full command views of the whole thing. The high overview is not possible with helio...at times we cound see the tiny helicopters whirling way below us. View of Mt Cook, from up high, is most awesome sight. Above all, the most warm and friendly service from desk staff to the pilot. They were so flexible and accommodative in making sure we have the best experience and stunning photographs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was very impressed with this company. They were not sure if the skies were clear enough for our enjoyment as the route up he Franz Joseph clouded in around 0830. However, the company refused payment and ran us out to the aircraft to try the Fox Glacier route saying that if this route was not open there would be no charge.

Fortunately this valley was clear of cloud and we were able to gain access to the high peaks through this route. Above the low clouds the skies were clear and bright blue. Our flight lasted about an hour and we had magnificent views over the mountains and glaciers. The pilot took us close to a number of the peaks and gave plenty of time for photography.

For the first flight of the day the trip starts at the company’s office on the main street of Franz Joseph. A minibus runs you to the airport just a few minutes away. The pilot gives a short safety briefing at the aircraft before takeoff. Visibility from the plane is excellent. The aircraft has some heating so the temperature remained fine despite the increase in altitude. Sunglasses are needed to combat the glare reflecting off the snowfields.

A short video of the highlights of the flight can be seen at http://youtu.be/f8Yi_YMgKlM

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An amazing flight”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked the Grand Traverse flight which took in both glaciers and is about 50 minutes long. We were lucky that on our last day the weather cleared and we were able to go up. The views up there are breathtaking. If you suffer travel sickness make sure you are well medicated as it can get quite bumpy over the mountain ridges ( I loved it but my poor husband,despite his meds, was ill in the latter part of the flight as it did get very 'bumpy' at one point so not for the nervous flier).
The pilot was brilliant and gave plenty of opportunities for photos. Everyone has a window seat. The pilot gave a very well informed commentary throughout the flight. This trip is well worth the cost and I thoroughly recommend it as the thing to do in FJ is the weather is good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We took this tour because they were offering a special on the 20 minute tour And boy was it worth the money! The pilot was very informative and we got some great photos of the glaciers, the coast and the mountains. The only thing that would have made it better was to get to land on the glacier.

Helpful?
Thank Kyishia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Flights are weather-dependent: if everything is covered by clouds, you don't fly. We were fortunate to have a break in the weather for our flight and got to see lots of glaciers, Mt. Cook and other mountains in the two national parks that meet in this area, the coast, rivers, the whole bit. It was spectacular. The pilot was knowledgeable and very entertaining. The plane was comfortable. We've done flights over glaciers in Alaska, and this plane was better than what we had there because everyone had a window seat and the pilot made sure both sides of the plane got to see everything. This is stunning scenery and well worth the cost of the flight. We chose to take an airplane rather than helicopter because the plane can go higher and you see more of the countryside. A note on logistics--the Air Safaris office is in town. A small bus takes you from the office to the tiny airfield and then back again after your flight. You pay when you return, as the cost is dependent on how much you've been able to see. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Safaris also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Air Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing