We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Alice May

Alice May
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: International, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: As warm and welcoming, as a traditional English Carriage House. The white walls and exposed rafters are adorned with riding tack, farm tools and other historic artifacts. While the wooden floors, wagon wheel bar stools and open fireplace add to the warmth.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We were heading for another restaurant when the Happy Hour at Alice May caught our eye. The welcome was so warm and genuine that we stayed for a while and seduced by the sight and smell of meals coming from the kitchen we decided to eat. What a good decision. The lamb shank was to die for and the roast pork amazing. I'd recommend Alice May to anyone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    407
    162
    52
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not so happy hour !”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at a nearby hotel and whilst out for a walk noticed the Happy Hour and local beer at $4.50 ! Good call. As the evening was nice we went to the bar , friendly bar manager , ordered the local beer and went outside . Two drinks later we decided that dinner would be nice, checked we could get a table inside and were directed to a table for two . So far so good. We then had to attract a waitress to obtain a menu . The staff seem to look through customers ! Eventually we ordered a selection of 'dips' to share which was fine . Then to keep things simple ,we choose the same main course , pasta of the day which was titled as mushrooms and bacon in a cream sauce . After about a 20 minute wait two bowls of creamy paste penne was placed before us ! Clearly they had been sat under a hot light for some time as the edges were dry. We were not offered either Parmesan or black pepper ! And as for bacon I'm still looking ! What we had was quite tasty but we have had better . The bowls were taken away unceremoniously . We were not offered desert or coffee. The place was not over busy but it does appear the staff are 'back packers' with no interest in customer service just getting wages to continue on round NZ. Would we visit again ? Only for the cheap beer .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wavewatcher43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went here for dinner one evening in November 2013. The restaurant was busy but we managed to get a table outside. The service was good but we were surprised that almost as soon as we ordered our food it arrived. I'd ordered the fish of the day which was monkfish and my husband roast pork, however it seemed to me that the food had been pre-cooked and kept warm and hence my fish was overcooked and a bit rubbery. My husband also said his meal seemed "warmed up". We wouldn't go again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We went there for dinner, were sat at the bar as there was no free table. The manager wrote down our name but subsequently forgot about us and sat down 4 other tables before she saw us and realised something wasn't right. Once we ordered, there was a long wait, the lamb shank was overcooked and the veg curry was very stale and boring. The atmosphere is good and our waitress was friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank octopuspusine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but only average food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went there for dinner with my girlfriend. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Menu quite normal for NZ. The plates (pork belly and roasted pork) looked nice, but we were both quite disappointed with the food, which was not very tasty. In addition, the pork belly was overcooked.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice May also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Alice May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing