We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Experience”
Review of Alice May

Alice May
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: International, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: As warm and welcoming, as a traditional English Carriage House. The white walls and exposed rafters are adorned with riding tack, farm tools and other historic artifacts. While the wooden floors, wagon wheel bar stools and open fireplace add to the warmth.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by our motel "58 on Cron" and were not pleased with the end result.
Initially I was a bit surprised by its make up being a rather "funky" location whereas I expected a more "Alpine" of offering.
However, the food was very nice, service excellent - I went out of my way to tip the server which is very unusual for me.
Would visit again if in area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighburyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    412
    163
    52
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney and Dinard
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good meal in spectacular surroundings”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate outside with the mountains looming above us. Outdoor heater turned on as the sun went down.
The food was good but a couple of the dishes were complicated and not very well executed.
Reasonably priced wine-list.
Friendly service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oasis in a busy tourist town”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had looked at a number of restaurants in Franz Josef, some we had eaten at on previous trips but none took our eye until we checked Alice May's out.
Welcomed by friendly smiling staff, seated quickly and our waiter promptly gave us the menus, took our drinks order and in a short time we had placed our order for food. The first course arrived promptly (smoked salmon for me and calamari for my wife) both were excellent and signalled good things to come. The mains arrived - again promptly (rib-eye steak for me and seafood medley for my wife) and again both were well presented and full of flavour.
A bottle of Pinot Gris complemented the meal and this was followed by a berry sundae.
A perfect meal in a place that was clearly busy, but where you did not feel rushed and where the staff were comfortably attentive. Great atmosphere.
Congratulations to the staff, the chef and the owners as clearly this restaurant has a happy, well trained staff. The smiles were evident!!
We will be recommending you to our guests when they visit Franz Josef.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDW46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Recommend”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went here for dinner based on a local recommendation. It was so delicious that we returned a second night. Great view of the mountains while you eat. Only item to comment as a possible negative is it can be crowd and thus slow getting your food. Just order some appetizers, a few drinks, and soak in the views until your meal arrives. Would eat here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyParty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Met up with friends for dinner. Food excellent and good service. The place is always full and rightly so. Would go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice May also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Alice May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing