We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Alice May

Alice May
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: International, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: As warm and welcoming, as a traditional English Carriage House. The white walls and exposed rafters are adorned with riding tack, farm tools and other historic artifacts. While the wooden floors, wagon wheel bar stools and open fireplace add to the warmth.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If it is bad weather and you this is the closest restaurant it will pass but do not go out of your way. Fair food..lousy service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pegandbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    412
    163
    52
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood,ca
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“beautiful quaint setting...”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

very nice waitress, and lovely relaxing place, but food just was okay, nothing special considering the price, but we got free drinks with coupons for staying at a local hotel so that was nice..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank queenhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected - good food, great service”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Given the remote location and tourist nature of the town we had low expectations for food in Franz Joseph in general however Alice Mays was a very pleasant surprise, delivering good quality food and great service. The quality was equivalent to good gastro-pub back at home. The first night I had venison sausage and mash which was very tasty, hot and well presented. We went back on our second night and I had a steak sandwich, which was good, but not quite the best I have ever had. We saw a neighbouring table have the ribs - they looked amazing. We also had wine with our meal - there are vouchers all over town for free drinks with the meals - and the house wine was decent quality. We were pleased with the service but I would try to get there before or after the dinner rush for the best service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhainesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Alix48”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ate here both nights of our stay. Good food at good value.
It was a busy popular place so we were not the only ones to appreciate it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alix48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good basic restaurant”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were very happy with this restaurant for a nice, basic dinner. Lots of "light mains" for twenty dollars. And coupons are available (at least at the backpackers) for a free Monteiths beer with a meal. Very good value, service, and food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NZguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice May also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Alice May? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing