We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special - worth spending that little extra for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
toulouse
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Something special - worth spending that little extra for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Firstly I'm not sure why this is classed as a B&B / Inn? It's definitely a hotel..

This was a last minute decision to stay ...but even if you're planning in advance maybe just 'go basic' on some of the other nights and give yourselves a treat at Te waonui.

Rooms good size, really comfy bed, hypnotic sitting in the chairs and watching the rain on the dense forest. lots of little extras in the room, like iron and ironing board, very useful when living out of a suitcase.

5 course dinner was a feast for the senses, tables well spaced so you're not disturbed by neighbours. staff welcoming and efficient in a quiet understated way. Good breakfast the next day too.

Overall... Definitely a good choice for a little treat!! Wishing them every success.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothingtoulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    132
    57
    10
    4
See reviews for
98
410
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
frankfurt, germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

during our 5 weeks trip to NZ the stay at te waonui at franz josef was ment to be one of the highlights of our vacation and we booked a three nights stay at the hotel including dinner every night. the hotel is quite new and it shows but does not meet the demands it promises on its homepage at all. it is a big hotel suitable for large bus tours but unfortunately not in the restaurant area. so the two of us were lost in large and loud groups of tourists every night. the restaurant itself offered the same menu every night, after the second night we decided to find a place outside at franz josef, which is not that easy :) if you are not too keen on burgers etc. talking to the manager he admitted that the hotel never had guests staying for more than 2 nights...and again: it shows.
the hotel offers broadband i-net but has not a single computer available for its guests and you are send to the neighbouring hotel, also a member of the NZ scenic group, where we had to pay for the i-net access. it was not a big amount but anyway somehow annoying.
the staff at the hotel was friendly, no complaints about them, but if you visit the area we would definetely recommend to go to fox glacier and find a nice accomodation around there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamer_fra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Unfortunately only stayed here one night as a stop off on our tour of New Zealand. What a fantastic place, the location is wonderful, built as it is in the rain forest. Dinner was amazing, the trio of chocolate desserts looked too good to eat, but of course, we did eat it. Would recommend this hotel if staying in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

This hotel was really a magical place. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. Our room looked over the rainforest canopy and had every amenity we needed. Staff were most helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The Canopy Restaurant was excellent.
Would definitely like to visit again.
Only complaint was the very dim lighting which we were asured was being rectified.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

I have just enjoyed a meal in the Restaurant of Te Waoniu that surpassed any culinary experience of mine in a long time. It brought together ambiance, food, attentive but unobtrusive service and a wine match to compliment the entire experience. As the hotel is set in a rain forest, thoughtfully, there is an excellent umbrella in my room; there is considerable precipitation outside. I have gone for a walk around the town and thanks to my umbrella, have returned dry, bar light splashing up my lower trouser. I now look forward to immersing my self in the very comfortable bed

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoddersSouthIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
950 reviews
404 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

Since we were in a non-stop tour, I have no idea if the location was good or bad or if the value was good. The food was interesting and very good. Excellent, no, I was still hungry, they do give you a lot of dessert, and I would have liked more food instead, also when I asked for coffee they told us we had to go to the bar! Service was great. There is need for some extra light in the room; it was too dark to read. Loved the sense that you are in the middle of the rain forest.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband were one of the first guests to stay at this most gorgeous and stunning property. Being brand new one could still smell the fresh paint and polished floorboards. The managers Steve and Dianne Smith are extremely professional and have been hand picked to run the hotel. I couldn't imagine a better couple to manage the property. The rooms were extremely luxorious and hd one if not the BEST beds we have ever slept in. Beautifully designed with fine and evidently expensive furnishings. The restaurant degustion meal as simply superb and salubrious!! Nils, the waiter was the most amazing attendant we have yet encounter. He seemed to just glide around the restaurant and is world class in our opinion. The setting/public areas were extremely comfortable and we would regard this hotel to be one of the best we have stayed in many years.

We sincerely wish the owners of the hotel the best of luck because it deserves high occupancy rates due to the amount of effort placed into finally providing a five star place to stay in the area of Franz Josef and Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojoitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waonui Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Property: Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing