We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue, so relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue, so relaxing”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate to receive an upgrade from Scenic to stay at their luxury hotel Te Waonui for the two nights my tour had me staying in Franz Josef, it was an amazing stay. My room was on the upper floor close to the Canopy Restaurant, very handy, and the second I walked in my breath was taken away by the view from the balcony, a beautiful rain forest scene, I think I sat there for a good hour just appreciating the view and song of the birds.

That night I ate at the Canopy Restaurant and I can attest to the fact that the food here is worth every last penny you pay, it is so flavoursome and a real experience in itself. My first night I partook in tea smoked scallops, mains of merino with a lovely jus and in between they cleansed my palette with a most gorgeous lavender granita. The second night I enjoyed a fantastic mushroom vegetarian dish and chocolate fondant.

A wonderful venue with great staff and services. Would happily return here to stay when in NZ next.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BryGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear BryGL

Thank you for your valued feedback which I will share with my team. Pleasing to read that your Silere lamb from our Canterbury plains, and export grade Marlborough scallops were a highlight of your dining experience at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Enjoy the remainder of your NZ journey before your return back to Perth.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    139
    58
    10
    4
See reviews for
100
428
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in Te Waouni for 2 nights as part of a honeymoon trip around New Zealand and it was definitely the best hotel we stayed in. The welcome was outstanding, staff excellent and rooms were clean, large and very comfortable. The glacier hot pools very close by are a must, and the hotel food was also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Fran

Thank you for sharing this special time with us at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. It's feedback like this and knowing that we are making a difference in people's lives that makes me love my job!

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Te Waonui. I think we came here during the off peak season and I don't see many visitor staying in the hotel. This gave us a the exclusivity and luxury VIP kind of feeling. The people working there were extremely helpful and friendly. They take care of every small little details of your stay to make sure you are satisfied. The rooms were luxurious. We must emphasise the meals that we have taken in the restaurant. We didn't expected we can get good quality fine dining in such a small town. We enjoyed every meals that we had there during our stay and the waitress were friendly. My wife even told me that the chef cooked her fresh scramble eggs when the chef just happened to came out of the kitchen and saw my wife scooping up the scramble eggs that was served in the chafer. Everything was extraodinary here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sOtSoTdEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear SotsoTDEI

The recent Haast Pass closures unfortunately interrupted some of our guest travel arrangements at Te Waonui Forest Retreat ....

It sounds like this act of God assisted in allowing you to enjoy our Hotel all to yourselves :-)

Thank you for your valued feedback and glad to read that you found our team to be so accommodating.

Yours in hospitality

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

wat i say about te wanau ,the best hotel in the glacier region.first of all staff were ready to fulfil yr needs n ready to help you.rooms very nice n a clean bathroom with branded amenities.view from room was the best n plus point is parking is free there .they treated like a royal n greet us well with kiwi juice .i will definatly choose te wanau for my next visit.n wants to thanks to all staff members there .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramit k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Ramit

Thank you for this posting, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Farnz Josef Glacier and Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Pleasing to read that you found our Team to be attentive to your needs during your time with us.

Thank you once again.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spend 3 nights at the Te Waonui Forest Retreat and loved it!

The hotel is very modern and blends perfectly into the environment. Rooms are quiet, very modern and bathrooms very clean. Our room (I think all rooms) have a beautiful view into the forest setting. The complimentary sparkling wine and canapés were a nice touch.

Staff are friendly and eager to fulfil any request. Free onsite parking is a plus and within easy driving distance to the glaciers.

Breakfast was average and dinner nothing special but it was nice to have a degustation dinner in such a remote place on my birthday.

This is by far the most upmarket accommodation in the area and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Dazman69

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. It is only through feedback like this that we can continually improve as a Hotel.

Yours in hospitality

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the perfect place to get away from it all and immerse yourself in the relaxing and beautiful environment of the west coast. On arrival we were meet by the outstanding manager of the hotel and taken to our beautiful room which backed onto the lush forrest. THE BEDS ARE EXTRAORDINARY COMFY, you literally sink into them. We booked the eve off arrival and every staff we encounted was extremely helpful and an absolute pleasure to deal with. I have never had such good service in a hotel before. Slightly disappointed in the spa, it's in one of the hotel rooms, not a stand alone service. Definitely get out on the bikes, perfect way to explore the area.The 5 course degustation dinner which is included with your room is incredible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnabelleR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Annabelle

Congratulations, it appears that you have posted the final Tripdvisor response for our 2012/13 season at Te Waonui Forest Retreat and what a great season it has been in the beautiful Franz Josef Glacier! Thank you for your valued feedback and we look forward to picking up from where we left on 1 September 2013!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when next you visit us from Auckland.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This would have to be the best service I have experienced in any hotel in the world. Friendly and efficient without being in your face. The food in the restaurant was also top class. We only had to ask for a small dietary requirement to have that rapidly accommodated. The rooms are comfortable with the view into the rainforest relaxing. A short walk to the hot pools puts this hotel in an ideal location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Wayne

Wonderful to see how many of our valued Chch guests are making the trip to Franz Josef Glacier, and especially pleasing to read how many are enjoying their time with us at Te Waonui Forest Retreat! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others on Tripadvisor.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waonui Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Property: Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing