We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service in a beautiful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just completed a wonderful honeymoon in the south island of nz, staying in many different and beautiful places. As far as accommodation and customer service goes, this hotel was the best. Our expectations were continually exceeded by the genuinely helpful staff. Their enthusiasm and good nature is a clear sign of a well managed establishment. Comfortable rooms, excellent food and numerous unexpected extras, such as a complimentary glass of wine and cheese, made the 2 nights we stayed here even more memorable. We look forward to coming back some day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gablou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Gablou

We look forward to welcoming you back to Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Thank you for taking the time to make this posting.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 671 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

The rooms of this "eco lodge" were delightful and the staff friendly although the service did not have the same slickness of a proper 5 star hotel. The only option for evening meal seemed to be an all inclusive gastro experience which took about 3 hours. We ate out on the second evening even though we had paid the inclusive rate because we wanted something less fancy. I dont know what was "eco friendly " about this lodge ....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salverlaterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Salverlaterly

Thank you for your feedback. I agree, we should better communicate our extensive environmental initiatives at Te Waonui Forest Retreat and I plan to include these in our in-room compendiums going forward. Whilst I understand that a 5 course degustation menu may not be everybody's cup of tea on both nights it is a pity this concern was not raised at the time as we would have happily assisted with an alternative dining experience, especially since you had already paid for this service!

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife, two friends and I have just had the pleasure of spending two nights at this wonderfully relaxing hotel. From the moment we stopped outside the entrance until the time we left, the service was outstanding. All reception, dining room staff and Gwen the Concierge were polite friendly and helpful. Excellent setting, lovely food and comfortable room made for a very pleasant weekend getaway. Thanks to all for a great stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are located around the rain forest. Woild recommend the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Travelguy

Thank you for your response as well as for your personal mention of one of our super-stars, Gwen. Thanks as well for choosing to stay with us in Franz Josef Glacier.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the minute we arrived at Te Waonui, we were treated special. We were met by Amy the receptionist and she was courteous and helpful a real asset to the hotel. She provided us with a kiwi fruit drink and hot towels and if that wasn't enough it just got better. The room was a delight with everything we needed for our stay. We were given complimentary tokens to do our laundry an absolute must for us as we had been travelling for a number of days. A knock on the door and Amy bought in a bottle of champagne and later cheese biscuits and wine. The five course meal was delicious and again a big thank you to Annie who was as superb waitress. If I could give it six stars I would. My husband was thinking of baracading himself in the room so he wouldn't have to leave! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1113
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Gloria

Thank you so much for recognising Te Waonui Forest Retreat and the service of Amy Mills and Annie Tonner at the highest level possible on Tripadvisor. Both these ladies have extended an exceptional level of service this season and it is always pleasing to see that their efforts do not go unnoticed by our valued guests. Thank you as well, to you and your husband for choosing us!

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on one leg of a tour of South Island. The staff were welcoming and friendly from the moment our coach pulled in, both hotel manager and chef came to meet us. Check in was quick and bags brought to our very comfortable room. Wonderful bed, fantastic shower and best shower gel I have ever come accross. :-). The food was superb, although on looking at the menu initially I thought it was a little fussy, in fact each course was delicious and just enough to satisfy the palate. We were sent on our way with bottled water each, a nice little touch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellor60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Travellor60

Your title says it all ... We pride ourselves on extending warm and friendly service at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Thank you for the pat on the back, and glad that you enjoyed your time with us during your exciting NZ and South Island holiday.

Yours in hospitality

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went to the West Coast for Easter Weekend and Te Waonui was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The service was exceptional from the moment we arrived - friendly, helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The personal attention was just right, making you feel special without going over the top. The rooms are beautiful and the food was outstanding. After a day out on the glacier the spa treatment was brilliant. For an unforgettable experience stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Janet

Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor response. Thank you as well for taking the time to make the trip to us from Chch. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can ever assist with anything in future.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My new husband and I spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. The hotel was wonderful and the service absolute stand out. The staff were attentive without being overbearing. The facilities were great and we enjoyed the degustation menu.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoP183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Jo

Great to read that you had such a good time with us at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if ever I can assist with your West Coast accommodation plans in future.

Yours sincerely

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waonui Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: $515 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing