We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went to the West Coast for Easter Weekend and Te Waonui was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The service was exceptional from the moment we arrived - friendly, helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The personal attention was just right, making you feel special without going over the top. The rooms are beautiful and the food was outstanding. After a day out on the glacier the spa treatment was brilliant. For an unforgettable experience stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Janet

Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor response. Thank you as well for taking the time to make the trip to us from Chch. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can ever assist with anything in future.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    139
    58
    10
    4
See reviews for
100
428
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My new husband and I spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. The hotel was wonderful and the service absolute stand out. The staff were attentive without being overbearing. The facilities were great and we enjoyed the degustation menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoP183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jo

Great to read that you had such a good time with us at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if ever I can assist with your West Coast accommodation plans in future.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Te Waonui and think the staff some of the best, if not the best for service in all our travels over the years in NZ. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent, friendly and professional. And at all times they welcomed and treated our children as valued guests. Facilities are great, food and dining is excellent and the service throughout was attentive, friendly and always done with a genuine smile and sense of pride.

Room Tip: a must do is to visit the hot pools which adjoin the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rob

Thank you for sharing with others that Te Waonui Forest Retreat is a family friendly Hotel. We appreciate your high rating of our service delivery especially our staff :-)

Thank you once again.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

What an experience, one that I shall never forget, could easlily stay here for a month and still not want to leave.
The smiling Manager met us with hot towels and iced Kiwi fruit dring, bliss! after an enjoyable but challenging drive of about 4 hours. This hotel is at the cutting edge of sustainable,comfortable accomodation. Great care has been taken to preserve the environment around the hotel, and to incorporate the rainforest within the hotel building. Comfort is a top priority,with soft woollen underlays and down and wool duvets., the best night sleep ever.
The 5 course degustation menu in the restauarnt was sumptuous, the dining room canopied by the forest.
The charming staff were outstanding.
To date, this hotel was the best experience of my whole life(and that's a lot of years).

Room Tip: All room are sensational, just stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Alison

We appreciate your wonderful review of Te Waonui Forest Retreat and thank you for sharing your positive experience with others on Tripadvisor. It's reviews like this that get me out of bed in the morning :-) Thank you once again.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

There are not many hotels in New Zealand where you are met as you park your car and have your luggage taken care of, are handed a hot towel and an iced drink as you reach reception, where you are greeted by the hotel manager himself as your bags are taken to your room and where every time you enter the restaurant you are greeted by name. This hotel has a lovely outlook onto pure West Coast native forest from the guest rooms and a glimpse of the Aoraki/Mt Cook massif the other way. We had a lovely 2 night stay and felt very well looked after.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulGTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr Taylor

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and glad to read that our friendly Te Waonui welcome set the tone for a great 2 night stay in Franz Josef Glacier.

We treasure your custom.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Te Waonui Forest Retreat is a luxury property with stunning rain forest views right on the doorstep, with well appointed and functional rooms. The restaurant degustation menu is not to be missed, with exceptional and attentive service, while the breakfast buffet is also top class.

The friendly staff here deserve a special mention for attentiveness throughout our stay, particularly the Manager and the lovely Concierge Gwen, when we were made to feel extra welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

As and example, upon check-in my wife found she had left her handbag at a coffee shop some 65 kilometres away, and she began to panic. The Manager asked us to describe the shop and the handbag and told us he would take care of it. Just 2 hours later, there was a knock on our door and the handbag was delivered intact.

Now that is real customer service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear OvationGX2

Thank you for your candid response and for taking the time to recognise Gwen (Concierge) and Randhir (Manager) at the highest level on Tripadvisor. There are very very few pats on the back in the Guest Service business and it's only through feedback like this that we can continually improve as a Hotel.

Thank you once again

Yours in hospitality

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we stayed 1 night here and had the bed, dinner and breakfast package. The 5 course degustation dinner was very good as was breakfast. The rooms where nicely appointed and the beds very comfortable, I just feel the room was slightly overpriced as compared to where else we stayed in NZ. In saying that though it was a nice place to stay and if the special is good then go for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Narp35

Thank you for your response and glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us at Te Waonui Forst Retreat. Disappointed to read that you left feeling that your entire experience was a little overpriced as we pride ourselves in delivering a 5 star value for money experience.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waonui Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Property: Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing