We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every cent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth every cent!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is an excellent, different, hotel.
It's not cheap but everything is really top notch.
The location is superb for the glaciers. The rooms (arranged around a rain forest) are extremely comfortable. And the food is as good as you will find anywhere in the world.
All provided with excellent New Zealand warm and friendly service.
If you're in the South Island of NZ then you must see the glaciers, and, if you can, you must stay at Te Waonui Forest Retreat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Keith

Greetings from Franz Josef Glacier! Thank you for your response and glad to read that you enjoyed our unique location, food and genuine caring service team.

Thank you for this feedback.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    139
    58
    10
    4
See reviews for
99
428
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
travelbug-aus2010
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we experienced 5 star service from the staff.
Rooms were luxurious, spacious, clean with beautiful forest views from the room. The staff were very informative on things to do in the area and assisted with our bookings. our package included breakfast daily and a 5 course degustation dinner. I really wasn't sure how my very fussy steak, eggs and chips husband would go with this, however much both our surprise and delight he thoroughly enjoyed it and they were more than accommodating in changing the meal slightly on his request. All in all very Impressive! Worth the $ !
A little note to Te Waonui management - the friendly staff made our visit a delight. Reception, bar, restaurant and porters were a pleasure to deal with and it was clear they all enjoyed working there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug-aus2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Travelbug-Aus

Thank you for your response. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us ... Our Degustation Menu was designed specifically for guests celebrating a special time in NZ. Glad that you and your husband enjoyed the meals and staff service extended during your time with us at Te Waonui Forest Retreat.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Te Waonui for two nights and enjoyed every moment. The rooms with private forest view were excellent as was the five course dinner.
All of the staff were very warm,friendly and helpful sincerely doing their best to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Vmet

Thank you for your review. We understand that the difference between mediocrity and greatness is through ones staff. Thank you for your valued feedback as Te Waonui staff ALL have a genuine caring attitude and I know will appreciate this kind pat on the back!

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Well I was searching for a good Hotel to stay in Franz Josef and a Business associate mentioned of Te Waonui. In 2 words to describe the stay "Absolutely Stunning"!
The staff is very hospitable from the moment you enter the door step, the rooms are very comfortable with stunning rainforest views. I recommend the dinner at the Hotel, their 5 course dinner was one of the best I have ever had!
All in all, a must stay property once in Franz Josef, it may not be a cheap Hotel but thats what they do not aimto be, stay there to experience the place, you are pampered through out your stay by the over friendly staff and the lovely team they have.

Totally Recommended with a 5 star rating

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear KanikaS

Glad you enjoyed your time in NZ and especially pleasing to read that Te Waonui Forest Retreat was integral to the great time you had! Thank you for your Tripadvisor comment, much appreciated.

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in your hotel as part of an ATP tour. Although we stayed in many excellent hotels yours was the best. I wish I could have stayed for more than one night. Beautiful comfortable beds, waking up to a bell bird calling just outside. Excellent food. Warm welcome. What else do we wamt

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Judyk444

Thank you for putting pen to paper and sharing your time at Te Waonui with others on Tripadvisor. We treasure our APT guests and glad you enjoyed our personalised guest service :-)

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The quality of the accommodation was excellent, the rooms were beautifully equipped and of a generous size and as it was within the rain forest the natural setting made you really feel like you were in the NZ outback!
The breakfast and evening meals were excellent and the staff were some of the best we encountered in our 5 week holiday, so friendly and lovely.

Only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Frans Josef and off the coast road its location was very convenient.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smith025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Smith025

Kia Ora from a beautiful and warm Franz Josef Glacier! Thank you for your candid response, and for rating our service delivery at Te Waonui so highly :-)

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mataura
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our reception to the hotel was marvellous and we felt spoilt. The outdoor flow to the native bush and the sounds of the native birds was instantly relaxing. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. On a personal note I was really made the centre of attention for my birthday and our meal and table service were outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for choosing to spend your special day with us at Te Waonui. Pleasing to read that we made your stay such a memorable one!

Yours sincerely

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Waonui Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Property: Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing