We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and tidy with outstanding views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy with outstanding views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We have stayed here twice, and both times our accommodation has been spotlessly clean, everything has worked and the staff have been very polite and helpful.

The park is located a good ten minute walk from the town, once in the town you will find a selection of bars, restaurants, a few souvenir shops and a supermarket. I am telling you this as the two times we have been the weather has been so bad we have not been able to visit the glacier.

Getting back to the park, we would recommend it; it really does have everything you need, a nice big TV lounge, excellent laundry facilities, ample parking and the best bit of all for us is in the mornings (if it is clear) the scenery is just breath taking.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandDinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    154
    89
    37
    9
See reviews for
106
193
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Decent cabin style combination if you're stopping off here to see the glaciers which are tremendous

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

we stayed in an ensuite unit with attached bathroom. the room was rather compact but clean, especially the bathroom (which was also modern). the kitchen was communual and located next to our unit, for use by all those staying in the block of units. There was another couple staying in the unit next to us, and they sat outside their door all evening, which was pretty much right outside our door, so we didnt feel like there was much space for privacy. The location outside of town also meant it'd be convenient to have a car. There's a little lookout hill at the holiday park, great to watch the sunset from.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dee0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Four of us stayed in a cabin with use of the shared facilities. The shared shower/toilets were really good as there were separate large rooms with both in, which would be really great for families. The unit was really modern and clean. Not the most spacious, but comfortable for one night. It's only a short drive into town. Not as cheap as other Top 10s, but I guess the location's to blame for that!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFlipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Near (by car) to both FJ and Fox Glaciers, this was a pleasant surprise (even after staying at the award-winning Pohara Beach previously), with new shower block, free unlimited showers, and a large pleasant kitchen. Staff seemed professional and v enjoyable stay.

Glaciers, btw, much more impressive when you're near them. There were some restrictions on the general public being close enough to touch the base, but we went on a helitrip and the ice caves were out-of-this-world.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BritDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Decent sized kitchen for us campervanners (compared to some other places) and a games room with couple of video games/pool table, a climbing frame, and decent showers with room to put your clothes so they did not get wet (and maybe there was no charge for the showers either). Sufficient numbers of washing machines/dryers in mid-December too. Main drawback was being a 2 minute drive (a 40 minute walk in the pouring rain with small children) from town. Not that impressed with the glacier either -- a Dutch woman we met said one in Argentina is more spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

We booked an ensuite cabin for a night. The room was clean, but nothing special, although as one of our cheapest accommodations I would say it was value for money. The bathroom was tiny and it had a shared kitchen, which we didn't need to use, but the facilities looked ok. It was only a short drive into town and there were plenty on eateries so it was a good location. It was also quite spacious (unlike the Te Anau top 10) so you didn't feel to crammed in. We also had a lovely view of the Franz Josef glacier from outside cabin. All in all it was good for the money we paid.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaineyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#3 of 12 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
10.7 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing