We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Upkeep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Driving in to the franz josef park the laneways are full of potholes. At the time I stayed here the kitchen was 50% broken - the hot water zip wasn't working, there was no kettle so you had to boil water in a pot if you wanted hot water. 2 of the 4 cooker tops were broken. This resort is also quite a bit out from the town. Disappointing

Room Tip: Go to TOP 10 in Fox Glacier instead!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipperdepheeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 402 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Even though we only had a powered site for our 6 berth camper the site facilities are top class. Great customer service from reception to help us get most out of our short stay in the area. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickhemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Rather a down at heel and shabby place which requires money to be invested. Access roads were in appalling condition. Cabin was clean but tired. All life-support requisites were in place but wouldn't want to stay for more than a night. A sort of transit camp.
Down side was an abundance of families, non English speaking, who woke us at all hours shouting down a mobile phone to unspecified relatives/friends in foreign parts. They did reduce output by 20 decibels when gestured thus by me dressed in nightshirt, nightcap and bearing a candlestick.
Staff were trusting and lent us a copy of a DVD without a deposit as money was left back in unit.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The price is good and there's a trampoline – a winner with my son!
It's not near to the village but that was not a problem for us since we had a car.
Our unit had a separate bedroom and was nicely spacious, but it was basically furnished.
Our bed was very soft, way too much for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoine977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just staying 1 night in Franz Josef. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Great that there was a mini fridge in the room. Great value, was a short walk to town only 15mins ish. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: cabin 21 nice an close to the shower block
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Good, clean choice in the Glacier country. Convenient to town and to the glaciers. Well maintained and comfortable. The communal areas were clean and convenient. Check in and check out were easy. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyhjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Really handy location and good facilities for people staying in campervans.
Staff were really helpful when we needed advice and nice view of the glacier.
Kitchen was huge so a good spot for big groups

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
519 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franz Alpine Retreat
Franz Alpine Retreat
#4 of 12 in Franz Josef
290 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $60 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing