We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Reviewed July 3, 2013

we stayed in the motel style double room. it was nice but quite cold, it took a long time to warm up. we arrived late but got our key easily and off we went. You can rent pots and pans in reception so saves from eating out every night. the kitchen is quite large but unfortunately has only one oven which is no good if there are a lot of people using it at the same time. The bathrooms are big which would be good for families with very small children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 441 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom motel unit, which was the bottom floor of what seemed to be some sort of house thing. When we arrived i noticed that the wall heater was overloading and switching off. I went to reception to ask for a replacement, the lady was very friendly and said she'd have to go through the park and find one. She did, but this too didn't work. I again took it to reception and again she brought another, which again didn't work (you'd think she'd check them first) anyway we finally got one that did work. The room was rather grubby, the floor looked like it was briefly vacuumed only in main walking areas as fluff and dirt was accumulating around skirting boards. I also noticed that the smoke alarm was missing, which was disconcerting as the heater had an electrical fault. Not sure the fire dept would be happy.

Also the room got missed with the service event though we clearly hung their sign requesting a service (as per their instruction). Overall we just felt the staff just didn't really care too much, nor have much of an idea. I think perhaps it was run by casual backpackers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Decent camp site, the cabins have heaters on the wall which is great. The bathroom block was pretty grotty with squished flies all over the wall. The floors were always wet. The kitchen was decent. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were not traveling with a camper van. We actually had a Toyota Yaris (NOT ADVISED) but we spent two nights at this place in one of the cabins. We enjoyed our stay because the room was quite nice and it had a shared kitchen facility that was very clean and impressively maintained. They provided laundry rooms at a fair price. We enjoyed meeting people at the shared kitchen and were pleased with the friendly staff at the office. Never have we stayed at a camp ground with such wonderful views. Our only complaint was the size of the room made it difficult to open luggage but not all that bad. The bathroom was good and everything worked well. We stayed in varied lodging during our 6 weeks in NZ and glad we were able to experience a few nights at the "Top ten Holiday Park". The price was fair but not that much lower than some motels in the area. We would make the same choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jer-jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

All the Top 10s are pretty good. This is the third one we've stayed at. We just stay in a basic cabin usually, and this one was better equipped with fridge, toaster and kettle, but tbh you don't need tem cos the kitchen and toilet blocks aren't far away.
The Spa was broken so couldn't use that. That's the only downer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A pretty good camp site, with plenty of powersites set in a stunning backdrop at the foot of the Franz Josef glacier. Approximately 15 minutes walk from the township its close enough to get to the action but far enough way to feel peaceful. The reception is staffed with helpful and informative staff and lots of info on the various activities in the area. The main downside for us, travelling with young children was the poor state of repair of the playground area, which hopefully will fixed by now!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Camper and it is the ideal spot for that kind of travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We thought this site excellent, we even had a view of the mountains from our pitch. Although our camper van was parked opposite the showers, kitchens no problem at all. Short walk into Franz Josef for evening meal, although along the main road there was little traffic. All facilities extremely clean and in good working order. Very nice English girl on reception who was very helpful. We would return here.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Fogeybus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,276 reviews
1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glow Worm Accommodation
Glow Worm Accommodation
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $61 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing