We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay, fantastic view of the mountains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay, fantastic view of the mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

stayed in a 1 bedroom motel unit.
very good quality. clean. slept 4 people
kitchen area was good
bathroom was the open concept: toilet, shower sink all in 1 space with the shower splashing everywhere the shower curtain can't contain
there was a trampoline for kids
used the laundry room. several machines - like 5 washer dryers each i think
would stay here again
the office staff were helpful with tips for exploring the region

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredShuuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    154
    88
    37
    9
See reviews for
106
193
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We often stay in ensuite rooms and units at Top 10 parks as overall they are good value for money and we know what we're getting. We were not disappointed with Franz Josef. It was slightly more pricey than other Top 10s but we were happy with our unit which was nice and warm and had faciltiies sufficent to cook tea / breakfast (hot plates and microwave). The queen bed in the lounge took up a fair bit of room but overall the one bedroom unit was large enough for the 3 of us (a single and bunks in the bedroom)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raroa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
334 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in part of this modern motor camp which had separate rooms with beds and bathroom but where you shared the kitchen and lounge facilities.

It was very tidy. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The kitchen was fully equipped with pots and pans. However it was a it small and became congested quickly if one or more party was wanting to cook. However we did meet some nice people from Scotland as a consequence.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweed heads
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

As you would expect from a Top 10 Park, this one did not disappoint as far as amenities goes, however we did encounter a NOT SO FRIENDLY cleaning staff who made us feel very unwelcome, (we would have moved on have we not already paid)

It is always best to check the whole park out before committing!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilona077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Franz Josef hotels

Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in a ensuite lodge unit. It had a double bed and a set of twin beds. It was tiny, but more than adequate. There was a heat lamp in the bathroom which was really nice as it rained while were there and we could dry stuff in the bathroom. The communal kitchen was extremely nice.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Franz Josef Top 10. First time in a camper in 2010 in one of the worst storms I've ever experienced. The kitchen and amenities block were, and still are, very clean. This time we stayed in a studio cabin, warm and comfortable but definitely needed a heat light in the bathroom! Staff were very helpful and booked our flights over the glaciers which saved us standing in line. The park is a brisk walk from the township and traffic noise is minimal, so sleeping isn't a problem!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a powered site here. It was clean, modern and had a fantastic backdrop of the surrounding mountains. Staff were friendly and I saw someone emptying the bins near us quite frequently which I guess is a sign of the upkeep of the place. I would definitely stay here again. Out of the 4 holiday parks we stayed at in the south island this was the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy2rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
10.7 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing