We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Franz Josef Top 10. First time in a camper in 2010 in one of the worst storms I've ever experienced. The kitchen and amenities block were, and still are, very clean. This time we stayed in a studio cabin, warm and comfortable but definitely needed a heat light in the bathroom! Staff were very helpful and booked our flights over the glaciers which saved us standing in line. The park is a brisk walk from the township and traffic noise is minimal, so sleeping isn't a problem!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 407 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a powered site here. It was clean, modern and had a fantastic backdrop of the surrounding mountains. Staff were friendly and I saw someone emptying the bins near us quite frequently which I guess is a sign of the upkeep of the place. I would definitely stay here again. Out of the 4 holiday parks we stayed at in the south island this was the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazy2rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was the first time I'd stayed at a TOP 10 Holiday Park. This is the equivalent of "KOA's" in the States. I was very impressed. I stayed in four while in NZ and this one may have been the best of the four.

Upon arrival the lobby was clean and modern and the receptionist was super friendly and helpful. We'd forgotten a towel so he helped us out. All very impressive from the start. We stayed in tents our one night there. The tent area we were in was on the perimeter of the property so it was very quiet. The view of the mountains from the campground were spectacular, and the bathroom facilities - they were truly cleaner than a lot of hotel bathrooms out there. Based on the cleanliness and shape the facility was in I was certain they had just remodeled. I found out they hadn't remodeled since 2006. This place is kept up very well! I don't think I've seen a campground this nice in my years of camping across the States and now NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Arrived wet and cold after riding a trike in the rain for some distance. Staff so helpful. Unit had kitchen and very comfortable bed. Good heating. Very high cleaning standards. Toilet and shower in same block to unit so didn't get wet going there.

Priced a little more expensive than some other Top 10's on the East Coast but still would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The Top 10 Parks are all fairly similar and this one is no exception. The whole place is well laid out and clean. The facilities are good and you know ahead of time what to expect.
We stayed in a kitchen cabin, which has basic cooking facilities (cooker, microwave, fridge, etc.) but this cabin also had plates, pot & pans.
Overall I thought it was good value for money and would happily go back.
My only complaints are that the games room and TV room disappointing. The pool table, foos ball table and air hockey table didn't work, so that didn't leave much! Also the Sky TV Lounge had the bare minimum of channels. These issues may not sound important, but if you have kids and it rains a lot the indoor facilities really count. After-all, you pay for them so they should be working.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getupandgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed in a powered site. The sites were well spaced and have great alphine views. The facilities are standard and cleanliess of the compound good. On a side not, try not to fill up your petrol in Franz Josef area, we got ripped of at NZD 1.8+ for diesel when the going rate was hardly NZD 1.6 in other towns, most ex we paid for in South Island.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caravaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Only stayed here for one night but it was ideal for our needs.

Double room with ensuite shower, fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle, parking outside, use of communal kitchen, good laundry.

Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.

Short walk or 2 min drive into town

Wifi cards available to buy from reception

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
569 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $60 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing