We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Safe Campground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The Top 10 Parks are all fairly similar and this one is no exception. The whole place is well laid out and clean. The facilities are good and you know ahead of time what to expect.
We stayed in a kitchen cabin, which has basic cooking facilities (cooker, microwave, fridge, etc.) but this cabin also had plates, pot & pans.
Overall I thought it was good value for money and would happily go back.
My only complaints are that the games room and TV room disappointing. The pool table, foos ball table and air hockey table didn't work, so that didn't leave much! Also the Sky TV Lounge had the bare minimum of channels. These issues may not sound important, but if you have kids and it rains a lot the indoor facilities really count. After-all, you pay for them so they should be working.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getupandgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 407 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed in a powered site. The sites were well spaced and have great alphine views. The facilities are standard and cleanliess of the compound good. On a side not, try not to fill up your petrol in Franz Josef area, we got ripped of at NZD 1.8+ for diesel when the going rate was hardly NZD 1.6 in other towns, most ex we paid for in South Island.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caravaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Only stayed here for one night but it was ideal for our needs.

Double room with ensuite shower, fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle, parking outside, use of communal kitchen, good laundry.

Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.

Short walk or 2 min drive into town

Wifi cards available to buy from reception

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed on this site in a camper van and found that, despite being well equiped and clean and tidy ,it was just too big and busy for us - a bit like camping in a busy town centre car park. We had previously styed in quiter smaller sites and this was a total contrast. Having said all this, it was convenient for the town itself and the failities were clean, tidy and well managed, just sadly it wasnt for us - maybe were too fussy?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Facilities at this camp ground are good, however their service as booking agents is appalling. We booked a horse trek, and were told that we were booked onto the 5:30pm trek (at about 9:30am). around 12 the manger comes over and says that they are out of bigger horses - my partner is 6'4" so he can't go. We go and try to sort another activity and are told to drive out to the lagoon to go kayaking, only to find that they don't, as we were told, send people out at any time of the day, just at certain times on the tide cycle... so we can't go. thanks for causing us to waste one of our 2 days in Franz.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranzTOP10, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. I am sorry your 2nd day in Franz didn’t work out after getting a great scenic flight on the 1st day.

Tour companies have a responsibility to offer guests a safe trip. They also put a lot of effort into making sure it’s enjoyable. It sometimes happens that tour operators have to refuse guests who can’t be guaranteed a safe or enjoyable experience.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you like campervan parks- we do-, this place is really, really superb. its a pity we didn't stay for longer than one night. fantastic views, clean facilities, great place to stay if you're exploring franz josef. Really nice, helpful staff.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Traveling South Land, stay at this Holiday park for sure. Best accommodation on route to both the Glaciers. Has wifi, campervan parking and charging units, motel rooms, hotel rooms, own cooking space with all amenities such as utensils etc.

Washrooms may need little more attention but the price paid for this is absolutely peanuts. Good for friends traveling by bikes, rental cars or campervans.

There is a small market nearby where you can get good pubs, sporting activities like pool table etc.

Staff is nice and friendly, do not expect any service facilities as this is a holiday park. They have got laundry units , small reading room and all basic amenities one expect from a decent holiday park. Loved staying here for 3 nights, saw all attractions nearby. There is a beach about 10 kms away which is lonely and is a must for couples to visit whether during day or night. quite safe area overall.

Room Tip: You can get camper van charging units and parking space, nice motel rooms as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleygiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
569 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $60 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful setting with great views of the mountains, Franz Josef TOP 10 has accommodation to suit every budget. Guests in campervans and campers enjoy modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. Accommodation includes standard cabins with shared facilities and self-contained park motel units suitable for singles, couples, families or larger groups. We have two spas for guests to use, Wi-fi throughout the park, kids playgrounds, Sky TV, games room. Our staff know the area and are happy to advise on the best way to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing