We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot as...”
Review of Glacier Hot Pools

Glacier Hot Pools
Book In Advance
More Info
$335.42*
and up
Heli-Hike Franz Josef Glacier Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hot as...”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My family and I booked a private spa here today and were treated to a wonderful experience. The staff were delightful and friendly.

They layout of the place was very unique, a mix of glacier and forest with hot pools discreetly placed around.

The main pools are also covered and well sheltered and very well designed. The private suites come with a change room, shower, towels and your own private spa. Excellent!!

We had a very relaxing time, considering we have been trekking the past few days it was a welcome relief.

Helpful?
Thank ChappyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    258
    118
    32
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect after a glacier hike”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We had free entrance, included as part of our glacier hike price, which made our visit even more worthwhile. Think it is quite expensive otherwise. Environment and layout is good and the 3 pools are spacious. Changing facilities were clean but lockers/storage aren't ideal. Definitely relaxing and we had a fun, chilled afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We tried to get into the hot pools at Hanmer Springs but due to a power failure we missed out and thought these hot pools would be as good. Unfortunately we were wrong. They were just like large hot swimming pools. The setting was good though with ferns and plants all around. Quite expensive for just a spa and disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobinMc882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place is a must-do. Beautiful pools and wonderful facilities in a natural bush setting. We were there while the sun was setting and it was incredible with the beautiful colours and you could just see the mountains. One of the best hot pools (if not the best) we've ever been to. We really didn't expect to find such a great attraction in this remote location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paris1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Mediocre”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Like so much else in this country this venue is very mediocre with the same lack of attention to detail far to commonly encountered when vacationing in New Zealand.

Lockers are an extra charged and located outside the changing rooms next to the pools. What is the logic behind this? Every guest has clothes that needs locking in. If the venue is looking to make additional revenue from this why not just increasing the ticket price and, like every other spa on the planet, putting the lockers where people change into swimming gear: The changing rooms? In addition to the above, the changing areas has all the charm of an East German bath house in 1980.

If you have ever been to a Japanese Onsen spa you know how it can be done and will be incredibly disappointed by this place. Don't waste your money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Hot Pools also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing