We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottages With Wonderful Views !”
Review of Glacier Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franz Josef
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glacier Cottages
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Really nice cottages just out of the busy and loud centre of town !
The cottages are really well furnished, clean and quite spacious !
One bad thing though is the really bad WIFI ! Even if they have one you can barely get it due to the metal structure interference !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiRomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

We loved this place because it was a private little cottage, I wish we could have stayed here a little bit longer, but we were only here one night. Our hosts were awesome and I would recommend this place to others, and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottokwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed for two nights in a two bedroom cottage which proved to be a bit of a mixed bag. Will deal with the positives first. The cottages have a wonderful view of the glacier and are located just out of the village. There is plenty of space for car parking and wandering around.The owners breed minature horses which are delightful to visit. The cottages have ample room and are fairly well equiped. The owners were pleasant and friendly.

Now for the negatives. The beds although they looked inviting were dreadful. The master bedroom had a cheap matress and the single bed in the other room was nothing more than a matress on some sort of box. Our cottage had a cane lounge suite that had seen better days and although there were four of us there were only three seats. The other member of our party had to sit at the dining table or on the floor. the towels were shade of grey instead of being white and were anything but fluffy. If we had not prepaid over the internet I would have changed accomodation after the first night.

Glacier Cottages has potential to be a good place to stay but until the owners spend some money in upgrading the furniture and linen I'd give them a miss and stay in one of the motels in the village.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
5  Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Our initial impressions were favourable - quiet spacious but odd that queen bed in the small living area. Our teenage daughters were quiet comfortable there whilst we slept in miner like single beds which were very uncomfortable. The place was clean but lacking attention to detail. For example we ate off chipped crockery and there was no dishwasher. Bathroom amenities were basic and we had to seek assistance from a young family member to set up tv etc. We figured owners have way to much on their play to give the cottages a stamp of quality

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritawbool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This cottage was just right for us, a family with two young kids staying one night. The separate bedroom had two beds and a cot for the kids and the double bed was off the living area (not separate). This was fine for us. The views are stunning and it was close enough to town without being right in it which again was great for us. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the place nice and quiet. I didn't see anywhere in Franz Josef I would rather have stayed. Kids loved the playground and the horses.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefourcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed at the cottages for two nights in October while travelling with our young boys around New Zealand. I had high expectations of this place and was only party disappointed. The cottages are just north fo the township, which does not say much, as the township is small. The views from the cottages are fabulous, with the glacier in the distance and a fresh glacial stream running along the front of the property. We had a great time with our kids down in the river bed. The playground is a trampoline and swing, nothing much, but certainly kept the kids amused. The cottages are clean, quite spacious. Some of the furnishings were abit dated, but functional. It is hard to assess value in realtion to the cottages, nothing on the west coast of New Zealand is cheap. We did, at times, have trouble locating our hostess Vanessa, who was running her property on which the cottages were situated. Overall, our stay was very comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

One of the most beautiful spots we stayed in on the Sth Island. Will definately be back but for more than one night. Just a tranquil spot beautiful view just the ideal spot to recharge ones batteries

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnesEchuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
573 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Cottages

Address: State Highway 6 | Tatare Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Glacier Cottages Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing