We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly farm, lovely location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franz Josef
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perivale Farm Cottage
Reviewed February 5, 2010

A peaceful spot in an ideal location for touring. Forget those endless motels and hotels - this is a family working farm. The accommodation is simple and has everything you can need for a comfortable stay.
The host was helpful but not intrusive and gave good hints on where to go locally including peters pool which we may have missed otherwise.
I would recommend this and advise anyone to ignore the one negative review - it bears no resemblance to our experience of this place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susellauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Perivale Farm Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

Perivale Farm is a charming little farm cottage on a real working farm - the youngest member of our party was 18 yet we all still had a lovely time exploring the farm and meeting the friendly goats! It's a well designed holiday home with enough space to comfortably accommodate 5 adults for a short stay.

The host was charming and more than happy to encourage us to brave the chickens for eggs in the morning! He gave us some great advice on the best walks to do on the glacier and some useful local knowledge about when to visit.

The cottage was clean and well presented - we even had a Christmas tree and box of chocolates as a festive welcome!

The perfect base from which to explore the glacier - I'd definately reccommend it to anyone and I'd encourage you not to be put off my people who compare these lovely cottages to hotels. NZ is full of lovely, value for money holiday cottages that are not only cheaper than hotels/ motels but also offer a lot more charm and character.

Thank you for your hospitality!
Love Rach

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaciellaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This was a good value for the money -- especially for a family in this area ($140). It's located just a few minutes outside Franz Josef Village. It included a full kitchen and a large dining/living room. The living room had two comfortable pull-out couches. It also had Sky TV with lots of stations, a variety of DVD's, and a small library of books. Also, there is free laundry -- which can be quite convenient after a rainy day on the glacier! The cottage is located amidst a working farm. We enjoyed watching Graham's herd of dairy cattle from our kitchen window.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisw475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

It was a long day. We had driven for hours from Wanaka to the town of Franz Josef and finally reached this accommodation in the evening. We were exhausted.
We saw the sign for the farm from the road and turned in tentatively. There was no reception or anyone to greet us. The hosts had indicated that if no one was around we should just go into the cottage and we could find the keys on the kitchen table. As there were a few houses on the grounds, we were not very sure which cottage we were booked to stay at. We nervously headed for the nearest cottage, the only ones to greet us being 2 white goats next to the cottage. Inside, we looked around for the keys on the table but couldn't find any. Nor was there any note for us from the hosts. Reluctantly, I called the number I found on a pamphlet in the cottage (I had not thought to take the telephone number down when I booked) to make sure we had gotten into the correct cottage and were expected (an email I had sent closer to the date of my trip to check that they had my booking had not been answered).
The unfriendly voice at the end of the phone was a chilling dampener on my visit. No welcome greetings, let alone, apologies, just a very curt "my husband will be down shortly. We're having tea now."
When the host / farmer came, he spent a good part of the time complaining about previous occupants who had left a mess and mentioned a few times that we should leave the place as it was when we checked in, emphasising that the price we were paying to stay there was so low. I really felt miserable and unwanted.
This was in fact the unfriendliest "welcome" we had gotten from accommodation hosts throughout our South Island holiday...!
The cottage is located on a working farm. The toilet is right at the main entrance. The bathroom is a few steps down the corridor and very cramped. There is a room with a double bed. However the wardrobe in that room is full of duvets and stuff that there is no place to put your personal belongings inside.
There is a small kitchenette and dining area, as well as pull-out beds in the (same) living area which you have to make up yourself. There was also a small television set which had cable TV.
In all the other places we stayed at, we were always asked if we wanted a bottle of milk. It was ironic that on a farm full of cows, milk was not provided.
The electricity tripped a few times, and when it rained at night, it was really noisy.
For families with young children, the kids would get a kick out of going to the chicken coops in the morning to collect eggs (as many as you want), watch the cows being milked, and look at other animals like the charming dog, Snowy; the goats, the lambs and rabbits.
The farm is located along the main road and a 3 minute drive to the town centre.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank See-to-believe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

When we arrived we were greeted by our friendly host to our cottage. This afforded us a respite out of the rain and a wonderful place to relax in a warm, large comfy cottage. We cozyed up on the sofa watching our favorite Fox news. It was great to catch up with US news. So many great amenties, washing machine, heaters in all rooms, many magazines, books,servicable kitchen, full size refrig and big tub/shower. Tom liked running out to the cluck house to steal fresh eggs every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySaltLakeCity_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 2 children and grammy) overnighted at Perivale on our amazing two week NZ trek - the cottage is such a great spot - cosy, authentic NZ hospitality. We roasted marshmallows on the open fire, cooked farm fresh eggs for brekkie, unfortunately slept in so the kids missed milking time! Graham and Dora and family were great hosts and it was a surreal experience to open your backdoor to the sound of poddy calves lowing and look up at the Franz Josef Glacier in all it's glory. Next time we'll stay for longer to experience more of what the area offers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FABFiveSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Perivale cottage is in a fantastic location with a view of the mountains and a very short drive from Franz Josef township. Ideally located to the glaciers and lakes within the area.
We had an excellent three night stay and found Graham and Dora most hospitable welcoming and helpful.
The cottage is really well equipped, ideal for families, couples and for long or short stays. Exceptionally clean, and generally of a very high standard throughout. Firewood is supplied and there is plenty of heating throughout the cottage.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely return. We highly recommend. A lovely cottage in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RFBRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivale Farm Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivale Farm Cottage

Address: 307 State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Josef Glacier self-contained family holiday house in farmstay location minutes from Franz Josef township, Westland National Park and glaciers. Budget self-catering modern cottage accommodation for families visiting the South Island's West Coast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing