We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franz Josef
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perivale Farm Cottage
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Everything we needed in a perfect location. In the 7 weeks we were on South Island this has to be one of the cosiest places we stayed at. Being a keen birdwatcher being able to watch Spur winged plovers and NZ pigeon from an armchair was awesome! The eggs were really special and the milk was incredible. We will try to return in 2015!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Middleagedcouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Beautiful little cottage, with a very usable kitchen. We loved the fact you were able to see the cow milking (although we missed it though as we slept in too late) The location is great and very handle for Franz Josef or Fox glacier. Would definitely visit again. Plenty to do in Franz, would definitely recommend sky diving, the views were astounding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The cottage is located on a working farm so in addition to fantastic mountain views we had cows outside the window, sheep and horses nearby, and chickens providing fresh eggs each day. Donna made us feel very welcome and was on hand to answer any questions about the animals and the area. The cottage is basic; however, extremely well equipped with everything you could want for self catering stay. The bed was one of the best and most comfortable on our trip. The only let down was the couch as it literally had no springs! Hopefully it will be replaced by the time we return - which we definitely will.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

this may not be the place for you. If you like good value, simple, clean, and basic accommodations, then it might just be for you. The cottage has everything needed and is warm and toasty. We had just enough firewood and no trouble getting the woodstove going. This came in handy as there were some intermittent power outages due to an early winter snowstorm in the area. Very minor inconvenience. If you need sheets for the pullouts, make sure you know where they are early. I didn't start searching until it was late which resulted in an undressed couch for the youngsters. Plenty of room. The WC is in a separate space from the bath/shower right inside the front door, which may get a bit chilly, but not a show-stopper. I like rustic.

Sometimes the greeters are busy (it is a working farm, after all, and people have families to tend) when you show up, but they tell you that up front. If you need a lot of attention, you might not get it immediately, but that also has its advantages, depending on how you look at it. Sometimes one doesn't feel like talking after many hours on the road. Or maybe everyone does but me.

We missed the last of the season's fresh milk by a few hours, much to my disappointment. Not sure if eggs were available or not, the girls may have been laying off, but we did enjoy feeding them our leftovers. Sure, the birds may like the shelter over your door more than one had in mind, but it does keep the rain off of you as well as them. Again, it is a working farm, enjoy it for what it is or pay a lot more for fancy elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

A basic cottage, but has everything you need. Coming from Queensland I was worried I would be cold. Not a chance! Very toasty inside with choices of air con, oil heater and even fireplace. A whole wheelbarrow of wood was left for us and an axe is provided to chop up if needing kindling, which we did. Despite the rain, we loved our stay. The kids got to collect fresh eggs, Eric gave us fresh cows milk. Sheep & a lamb right outside our cottage, with chooks, goats and calves outside our window too. Also 3 lovely friendly dogs, especially snow who loved pats and visited us a few times. Free wifi, which the kids loved too. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Donna &Eric our hosts. And also Graham the owner, a lovely bloke who loves his rugby league... Just as we do!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlepaws01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Situated on the road after Franz Josef, this little old cottage that isn't perfect was extremely comfortable and warm. It has a heat pump (Air conditioner) and radiators that was enough to keep the place warm if you couldn't be bothered with the fire. We had to buy fire-lighters but failed at lighting the fire as there wasn't any kindling. This could have been done better by the hosts. The beds were comfortable and facilities clean. Would stay there again. Didn't see any cows and didn't get fresh milk which was a little disappointing after reading previous reviews. I think the owners need to install either a window or extraction fan in the toilet...if you know what I mean.

Room Tip: Carry some air freshener for the W/C or light a match...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Accommodation is simple in an old cottage with a bedroom, separate wc and bathroom, and open plan lounge with kitchen area. There’s a great deck at the rear of the property with views over the farm and back to the glacier area just over the hill. Fittings are also simple.
There’s a warm welcome, with milk fresh from the cow and the invitation to select your own eggs from the nearby chook hut. Sheep graze just outside the window.
It’s a great place to stay for visiting the glaciers, if you are happy with simple accommodation, which now needs a little freshening up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivale Farm Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivale Farm Cottage

Property: Perivale Farm Cottage
Address: 307 State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franz Josef Glacier self-contained family holiday house in farmstay location minutes from Franz Josef township, Westland National Park and glaciers. Budget self-catering modern cottage accommodation for families visiting the South Island's West Coast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing