We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a good choice for a remote location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Its a good choice for a remote location”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed in the private stand-alone cottage and while a bit stark it did the job well enough. If this was in a city, it wouldnt be acceptable but out in a 2 horse town in the middle of a basically nowhere, I think the owner does an admirable job. It was clean and comfortable enough for the night. Location is fine, on the road to Lake Matheson and a short drive to basically the entire town. And yes, its a bit expensive at $185, but such is life.

The owner is definitely a bit opinionated but not to the point of being off-putting and she is obviously knows about the area. I learned on this trip to expect some conversation and butting in from the owner if you are staying at a B&B. I dont particularly care for it, but I think the owners believe that the clients expect that personal connection.

Oh, and she cooks a pretty darn good breakfast. Overall, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    34
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
119
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

At NZ$185 a night I would expect better standard, imagine my surprise. The only acceptable thing is the clean bed sheet and hot shower.

I didn't like the fact that we had to walk pass the host's window to get to our room...made me feel like we were back in high school and I was sneeking my girl friend into my room. I am not exaggerating because Karen's strong character makes both of us feel uneasy. There is no doubt that she is knowledgeable but that does not mean she would know better what we would like or not...she should be less forceful.

Cannot stand the sarcasism...does she think she is better for it?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollieoneandonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Had the most unpleasant 2 nights stay in our entire 18days trip.
1st we get cold shoulder upon arrival, then when I see the room, I wished to leave immediately, no refund so we stayed.
She did her job to introducing the place of interest in detail, that's the only good part.
But by the next day she was sacarstic and almost mean.
Maybe we stayed in the old room, or maybe it's the bad weather, or maybe she is in her bad mood... Just count ourselves unlucky!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at Fox Glacier Mountain View for two nights. Karen is a first class hostess and loves to chat, ask her about when she drove an 18 wheeler. The weather didn't cooperate for the helicopter trip but Karen tried her best. There is a good choice for breakfast whether hot or cold. All in all a great place to stay.

Eric and Grace
Eastern Canada

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elightowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We only stayed here for one night but it was a most terrific experience! Karen our host was a delightful and most down to earth lady who was knowledgable and knew exactly what goes on in and around the area. Due to the bad weather, we weren't able to climb the glacier, but Karen directed us to the right spots for some gorgeous walks. She made us feel right at home, very comfortable and friendly but not over the top or intrusive in any way! Our unit was very spacious, cosy, comfortable and very clean! Nothing fancy or unnecessary...just practical with good amenities and great shower..and Karen's more than capable in the kitchen! Surrounded by mountains and gardens, a most beautiful and relaxing place to stay with only a few minutes drive to town for dinner. We should have stayed for another night at least but that just means we have to return and experience all that beauty and Karen's terrific hospitality again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabnancyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

The accomodatations are great, very comfortable and Karen is the superb hostess. i felt like I was her sole sister. She gave such great guidance on seeing all of New Zealand. She is very knowledgeable on everything New Zealand, a great cook, warm hearted. There aren't enough superlabives to describe the great experience we had with her.
Barbara from Texas in the USA

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pybmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2010

After a warm welcome, our great host Karen informed us about various options to see in the region and gave us good advise on what is worth seeing. And you should listen to her: even though getting up at 6am in the morning might be tough... :)
The B&B is located close to both Lake Matheson and Fox Glacier- and still very peaceful. Karen even has her own small mirror lake in the garden.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claudia_Guido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
11.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This modern country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing