We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Beautiful views and lovely B&B”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely place to stay with really fabulous views. Close to Lake Matheson and its amazing mirror like reflections of the mountains. Even our basic camera got fantastic images. Our room was comfortable and spic & span. Lovely hostess and delicious brekky. Brilliant stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    34
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
119
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed three nights here to enjoy the excursions both Franz Josef (half an hour north along a winding road) and Fox Glacier have to offer. The spacious Aoraki room with large windows in front (mountain view) and back is 24m2 with an en-suite shower room (3.5m2); rather bare in relation to decorations. Karin give us a very detailed and efficient briefing on everything in the area, explained with the I-site map so you could remember it all. However, we had already pre-booked excursions for the glaciers. One helicopter pilot parks his heli in her shed, but unfortunately he did not offer us a ride to Franz Josef, so we had to drive the half hour winding road back. The house has a very quiet location with great views of the mountains, some cattle, large trees and a small mirror lake. In Fox Glacier village there is no free Wifi; also not in this B&B (NZ$5 extra). In Franz Josef it is free Wifi in town and hotels. Breakfast was plentiful, cooked to your liking and well organized.

Room Tip: There are several options within the same property
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful B&B with an outstanding view of mountains. Only a few minutes drive to beautiful Lake Matheson with its unique "mirror lake" images of Mt. Cook and Mt. Tasman - a photographer's dream. The owner and our hostess, Karen Simpson, had our room very well apppointed, spotless and comfortable. Karen is a delightful, engaging person and made us feel at home immediately. She has a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area and helped us to plan our day. A wonderful and unique B&B experience. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Every room at Fox Glacier Mountainview B&B is well appointed, spotless and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
クライストチャーチ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Views are second to none with glorious views up to Mt Cook and Mt Tasman.....breakfast was wonderful....full of good helpful information...Really friendly welcome...Lake Matheson was very close by and we enjoyed a morning walk round it before breakfast...
Well done Karen.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank クレイグ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great rooms - spacious, warm and comfy beds. Great host - what Karen doesn't know about touring the South Island is not worth knowing and gave us lots of ideas and tips. And breakfast - served with a smile and just keeps on coming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theaustrav55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A really comfortable stay for me and my family (2 adults, 2 children). We were given a 2 room apartment with huge bed for the adults and twin beds for the kids with an interconnecting bathroom. All were spotlessly clean and luxurious. Karen was really welcoming and an absolute gem in terms of knowledge of the whole of South Island. Breakfast was delicious and we were only sorry that we could not stay an additional night but Karen sorted out our accommodation with a neighbouring property which was beyond the call of duty. Highly recommended - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laidbackmogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Karen is a fantastic host with a wealth of local knowledge that turns a visit into a memorable experience. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. We were advised to rise early to get the best pictures of Mount Cook. Karen had breakfast ready on our return neither disappointed.... we plan to be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This modern country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing