We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great B&B with comfortable, warm rooms. Great breakfast with fabulous views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. Fox Glacier and Lake Matherson are nearby too.

Karen is the best host ever! Very knowledgable and always there to suggest activities to meet varied needs and expectations.

One of the best B&Bs I've stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtravels70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    34
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
119
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have stayed at this b&b with my three teenager children 2011 xmas. The property is only a km off the main road and it actually faces to mountains straight on.. the most amazing view for a stay. Its own reflection pool is really pretty and it is right next to the Lake Matheson, amazing reflection pictures of which you will see all across south island sovenir shops. do not miss to do the walk around it if you want to see with your own eyes.

Yes, it is basic stay but nothing was missing, nothing less than promissed. Lovely home stay, with all the necessities, nice and clean.. perfect for a family stay.

Karen is a no-fuss host, very happy to chat and share her place. the whole idea of a home stay is that you feel the local touch, so we enjoyed chatting with her all sorts of world affairs, from meat prices to world peace. i am sure if we did not want to do so she would not disturb our stay but we enjoyed her down-to-earth(very typical kiwi and ausie attribute we love) open attidute. She has all the local information and the latest news about the weather conditions(which is very important if you want to do glacier walks or heli rides) and she is happy to make a few phone calls to inquire about them.

The only dissapointment was the breakfast.. it was too basic to our taste. Nothing fancy is needed but at least some fresh fruit, proper muesli, proper bread and butter, some cheese, eggs and maybe even bacon would make this stay flawless. Maybe next time:)

i would higly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area, which is a magnificent part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AErinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

What a hostess!!! We had an aboslutely fantastic stay for 3 nights! Karen gave us a family suite as we were a party of 4 and made sure we had a wonderful stay! Karen helped us out with our heli flight (that fact that the heli is parked in her garage at night and starts up the next morning is absolutely no problem, it's actually great!) and had other fantastic tips for things to do. We fully recommend Karen's B&B to everybody!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Karen made us feel very welcome and her local expert knowledge was invaluable. Our room w as spacious and spotless. Breakfasts set us up for the day and the location of this B & B is stunning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The best that can be said for the furnishings is basic.
The helicopter parked in the garage starts up early and oh those diesel fumes to wake up to.
The hot water ran out in the middle of my husband's shower -- and it didn't change slowly.
The breakfast is ok but there is no fresh fruit -- only canned peaches and pears -- every other place we stayed had fresh fruit or fresh mixed in with the canned.
Our personality did not mesh with hers. We found her pushy -- I do think she was trying to be helpful but it was in a pushy way to us. We did not enjoy her.
There were two places on our trip that we would not stay again. This was at the top of the list.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This B&B is located in between the centre of the town and Lake Matheson, whith a great view on the mountains. We found our room spacious, clean and it had a good strong shower. It had a fridge and there was a kettle with coffee/ tea available.
Host Karen welcomed us with a cup of tea and gave us all the information we needed to know about the area. Breakfast was very nice.
We enjoyed our stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Karen made us very welcome and immediately put her excellent local knowledge into play to help us get an earlier heli hike on Fox Glacier ( which was brilliant). The little cottage was very comfortable and made an excellent base for a few days. Lake Matheson is nearby and an early visit pays dividends to get the reflection, the Cafe is more of a restaurant and does great food with great views. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
11.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This modern country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing