We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely country B&B close to Lake Matheson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“lovely country B&B close to Lake Matheson”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

we stayed here for one night- had arrived in the afternoon with the intention to walk on the glacier the next morning and head to Greymouth for an overnight stop before crossing south Island to Christchurch. We arrived in rain however which never stopped and, although the glacier walk was still happening, we decided against it as it would have been hard work and wouldn't be seeing it at its best. And just left next morning straight for Christchurch (which was just as well as the roads became impassable later on that day!) The hostess was very helpful in sorting "on hold" tickets for us to go glacier walking the next day which we were given until an hour before the walk started to cancel. Instead we enjoyed a very hearty breakfast. The B&B is a short drive to beautiful Lake Matheson- we went the afternoon we arrived but again couldn't see it at its best. Mount Cook reflected in its waters were not for us to see (we couldn't see Mount Cook!) but it was a pleasant 1.5 hour walk all the same if you go prepared for a wet weather walk.
Our room was enormous overlooked acres of green- and we had a brilliant night's sleep. A little out of "town" but there isn't really much of a town- you certainly don't need to be right in the centre of it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    34
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
119
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This B&B is in a great location with great views of the surrounding countryside. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated - very comfortable. The hostess is warm and welcoming and spends time with guests explaining the various activities and sights in the area. Breakfast is substantial and a great start to the day. This B&B is a couple of kms from the town so a car is essential.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Wan_Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it. Karen is a wonderful host. Very knowledgeable and cooks up a great breakfast.

Excellent views from the B&B and we were more than satisfied with the standard of accommodation and overall it was good value for money.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SussexbySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

we had a great time at the cosy cottage at Karens place. She was a marvelous hostess and had vast knowledge of tourist attractions. She cooked up a wonderful breakfast for us in the morning which we enjoyed with the other guests. We enjoyed sitting out in our verandah and looking at the mountain views- stunning. Thanks once again Karen you are a fab host.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelaadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We booked 1 night at Mountain view on our way from Wanaka to Franz Josef. We met Karen and she asked us to have a seat in the kitchen for a cup of tea and to chat about our stay. She seemed a little rude at first asking us a lot of questions and shaking her head when she heard our plans. After 2mins, we realized that she was just concerned about our plans to drive across NZ in a day. Karen drove a tour bus for years and knew so much about all the main NZ attractions and travel times. We were only staying one night so she was extremely helpful with suggesting our itinerary. We followed all of the recommendations and went directly to the Glacier before heading to Lake Matheson. Karen even suggested the best spots for photographs. We then had a lovely meal bf heading over to see glow worms for free on a little trail near the entrance of the town. We would never have found the entrance if Karen didn't tell us exactly how to find it and even gave us a flashlight to use.

When we returned late that evening, a full moon illuminated the small pond in the back yard. We lingered in the yard enjoying the peaceful beauty of her property. The next morning, we enjoyed a hot full breakfast and admired the mountain view from her kitchen window. I wandered outside to her pond and took some amazing reflection photos of the mountain.

Overall, the B&B is not the 4-5 star accommodation we would prefer, but given Karen's hospitality, we would definitely recommend her to other travelers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfGirl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I don't agree with a few of the comments from other travellers. We stayed here for two nights and had a great time. Karen does her very best to make you feel at home and in our case has helped us arrange our trip to the glacier. Karen is very knowlegable about the area and makes a great breakfast! We enjoyed our stay with her very much!
You get a free great view of Mount Cook at your doorstep!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed in the stand alone cottage for two nights and were delighted with our stay in every department. Good accommodation - previous reviewer said cottage smelled - this is simply not true. Excellent bed and all amenities of good standard. As previus reviewers have said what really makes this place is the excellent host who will tell you everything you need to know to fully enjoy Fox Glacier. Others have suggested that it wasn't good value for money: they clearly haven't been to others which do rip you off, unlike this one.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NoniRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
11.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Address: Williams Drive, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to my peaceful Fox Glacier hideaway, set on 8 acres of "Pure Nature" at its best. This modern country home has it all. With wide-open landscape, breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, and surrounded by bush-clad hills with a magnificent reflection on my own special pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fox Glacier Mountainview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing