We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious small treats still warm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobnail Cafe

Hobnail Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our friendly and helpful staff will tempt you with the delicious breakfast or lunch menus. Our scrumptious homemade baking is made fresh on the premises everyday, and the delicatessen style food is perfect for a casual lunch, or food on the run. Meals can be made to order if you need to take away, or if you have a little more time to savour the flavour, enjoy in our cosy café either inside, or outside and lap up the sun. We are licensed too, so enjoy a beer or a glass of wine at the café with your meal. We also offer vegetarian meal options if you prefer. Groups are most welcome but advance notice is appreciated. Wifi is available with any Hobnail Cafe purchase, so if you want to catch up on messages and emails or upload photos from your Fox Glacier experience, then this is the perfect opportunity. The Hobnail Café is open from 7.30am daily.
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious small treats still warm”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just had a muffin and a scone, but they were really delicious, it's the best scone I ever had, still warm, soft and not dry as I often had. And the waitress was sooooo nice. If we go back to Fox we will have a proper lunch there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandrineandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    93
    32
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
289 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Quickbreak on a long trip south”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Quick stop en route to Queenstown for coffee and a muffin. Pleasant and warm place to sit. Coffee was good. Toilets clean and tidy. Met our need for a short break.Other services provided which we did not use---trip bookings and souvenir shopping.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The food was ok. The room was a bit cold as nobody had lit the fire that morning. A very nice young chap did so while we were there but unfortunately managed to fill the room with smoke! That aside, a pleasant enough way to start your day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrillo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great coffee and a good pit stop”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed in Fox Glacier for a week or so during March visiting my son who works nearby. The Toasted Sandwich is good value and very tasty and hit the mark with me more than once. I found the staff very helpful and polite and always attentive.
I like the fact that the Glacier Guides help out at busy time... make perfect sense and I don't care if they have baggy jeans and wear T shirts...
The breakfasts are pretty good and the portions are just right for the average man.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This cafe was recommended by the hotel for breakfast before our walk on the glacier. Was excellent. Staff friendly

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chanchristine251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobnail Cafe also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Hobnail Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing