We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobnail Cafe

Hobnail Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our friendly and helpful staff will tempt you with the delicious breakfast or lunch menus. Our scrumptious homemade baking is made fresh on the premises everyday, and the delicatessen style food is perfect for a casual lunch, or food on the run. Meals can be made to order if you need to take away, or if you have a little more time to savour the flavour, enjoy in our cosy café either inside, or outside and lap up the sun. We are licensed too, so enjoy a beer or a glass of wine at the café with your meal. We also offer vegetarian meal options if you prefer. Groups are most welcome but advance notice is appreciated. Wifi is available with any Hobnail Cafe purchase, so if you want to catch up on messages and emails or upload photos from your Fox Glacier experience, then this is the perfect opportunity. The Hobnail Café is open from 7.30am daily.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The service at Hobnail Cafe was very friendly and in a great location. You can get breakfast, book your adventure and buy souveniers at one nice warm location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    93
    32
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Shorter hours than expected.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Sorry to say that I cannot comment on the food at the HobNail Cafe but only on their operating hours. The cafe shares space with Fox Glacier Guiding. We scheduled a half-day hike set to start at 2:30. We hoped to catch a late lunch at the HobNail Cafe but found them shutting down when we arrived at 1:45. Luckily there are other options readily available.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing French Toast”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had breakfast here before we headed out for the morning Fox Trot glacier tour. It was my first experience with the bananas and bacon thing, and it. was. amazing. Others in my group were jealous and we ordered it at a few more places along our journey, but none were as good as what I had here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank macd6951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great or a morning snack before your Glacier tour”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stopped in here for our morning espresso before we joined Fox Glacier Guides for our 1/2 day Glacier hike.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meklof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good breakfast to start the day ”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Good breakfast. If you're not setting off on one of the Fox Glacier Guiding trips, you'll want to time your visit away from their start times as it's pretty busy then.

Helpful?
1 Thank SarahsOffAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobnail Cafe also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Hobnail Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing