We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright Restaurant”

Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cook Saddle Cafe and Saloon offers locals and visitors a variety of menu options at reasonable prices in a warm and friendly country atmosphere.Our wide menu selection includes ala carte and group menu’s, while our popular western style meals are enjoyed by young and old. A children’s menu is available and we endeavour to meet special dietary requirements upon request.The restaurant offers indoor and outdoor dining and during the cooler months visitors can relax and unwind by the cosy open fire.The saloon is full of local history, a comfortable place for visitors to the West Coast region to catch up with the locals and perhaps hear a few good old stories from days gone by!
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Alright Restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had dinner at the cook saddle cafe as there weren't many places that were open at 8pm. The restaurant was nice and warm. Service was slow however as they seemed understaffed. The server was also not very familiar with the food when I asked her a couple of questions. When I asked her to describe the fish of the day, the descriptions almost sounded as if I didn't understand what a fish was. Food however was generally good. Ambience was alright. Other than the slow and odd service, little complaints.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xunliang_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    176
    80
    40
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“quite disappointed...”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We've been there for lunch. The room is nearly as cold as outside but that's ok for us. I ordered a fish burger, it was ok but in NZ I always had better burgers. The chips were really good, well cooked. My partner ordered a whitebait, 27 dollars, we expected a big plate, we were really disappointed. Small portion as compared to the price. The 'gourmet potatoes' to go with are just boiled potatoes. We decided not to take dessert there but my partner was still hungry so we had to buy cookies in the supermarket... next time we may just try to take a fish and chips takeaway. The service was good, nice waitress.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrineandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bad food, slow service”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We waited for ~15mins just to get a menu. A table that came after us, even got served first!

After ordering, we have to wait for another 20mins for our meal. We ordered calamari and roast chicken. The calamari is just fine. However, the chicken is over cooked and very dry.

We didn't bother ordering dessert even though it looks good, we just don't have the time to wait for another 15-20mins.

Well, they have a very nice fire place. That's the only positive I can think of.

Helpful?
1 Thank MAngelUy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saloon”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

First impression of Fox Glacier coming from Wanaka was wow. Headed into town for food and fuel and wished we could get through without. The non welcome started at the petrol station where the attendant didn't bother stop having a chat with her girlfriend whilst I paid my bill without uttering a word in my direction. Rocked into the saloon fanging for a feed. The open was a nice find with period interiors of the region. As the only guests we found it interesting listening to the staff meeting occurring at the same time and ordered. Fish burger $18 ok, pasta special $26 really good but avoid the so called Pizza $19. Never heard of chilli and some Parmesan will cost you extra 25% on the price. What is pizza on stale ciabatta anyhow? The town was very dead and lacked character. Couldn't get out of there quick enough. Headed into Franz Josef 30 mins later and what a find. Great vibe and selections of places to eat including gourmet burger bar and eighty eight fusion Asian bar with live music. If you can make it to FJ take the chance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JD70147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude service”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

After arriving in town after dark, we headed out to find some takeaway for dinner. We came across this Cafe and decided to give it a go as it was packed which is always a good sign as well as being the only place open advertising takeaway meals. When we were parking our van outside the pub many of the guests seated inside stared at us like we had just landed from outer space. We walked inside and when we were eventually served, we asked to look at the takeaway menu. The menu was thrust into our hands by a staff member who didn't care if we were there or not and we were given no explanation as to whether we could order anything from the menu or we had to stick to those items specifically labelled "takeaway" which were just side-orders of chips or spring-rolls. We decided to walk away and go next door to Cafe Neve where the service was excellent. From the sound of other reviews on here, the Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon lost of lot of money from us that night all because of their bad service. Highly recommend you stay away and go to Cafe Neve instead.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing