We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cook Saddle Cafe and Saloon offers locals and visitors a variety of menu options at reasonable prices in a warm and friendly country atmosphere.Our wide menu selection includes ala carte and group menu’s, while our popular western style meals are enjoyed by young and old. A children’s menu is available and we endeavour to meet special dietary requirements upon request.The restaurant offers indoor and outdoor dining and during the cooler months visitors can relax and unwind by the cosy open fire.The saloon is full of local history, a comfortable place for visitors to the West Coast region to catch up with the locals and perhaps hear a few good old stories from days gone by!
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great lamb and mussels!
Cute place. Woden and lodge feel.
Restaurant on one side with daily specials along with full menu. Bar on the other side with patio and pool table.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rrogoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    171
    77
    36
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We left a takeaway order, and the service was congenial, both when ordering and when we picked up the meal. The caesar salad contained tomatoes, red onions and other things not romaine lettuce and the dressing was thin and tasteless. The fish and chips both smelled rancid. Even though we there for only a few minutes, we were both put off by the loud, live and untalented musician.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dinner in Fox Glacier township”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had dinner here on a one night stop over in Fox Glacier, on our way to ski Cardrona. Not a bad little pub. Service was prompt, but meal options very limited and not too tasty or interesting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great prices for fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We loved the fair prices for great tasting food that was served in huge portions that we shared to experience more variety

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garches, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Do not go there!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had dinner there. There was a sign "open late"at the entrance.
Dinner was served until 9pm and we finished our dinner with the sounds of a vacuum cleaner from 9:01 p.m. ...
We wanted a dessert, and because of the noise, we choose to leave...
What a shame!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PG R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing